Spring Install

WarHorse

Reaction score
From 1-10 how hard is this?

Im a novice at this kinda stuff but dont feel right taking it to someone to put it on for me. Its my project and want to do the work myself.

Any info, hints or tips are appreciated.
Raul D. Martinez

riored96gt

Reaction score
Not so much hard as it is tricky.
Rears are cake.
Fronts can be a bitch.
Spring compressors get in the way.

I have a 6' long 1" dia. V-drive shaft from a ski boat that I use to lever in the front spring...

I leave the A-arm bolted to the chassis, undo the strut with floor jack under it. I tie a good sized rope on the old spring and work it out. Then put the spring bottom in and lever in the top while jacking up the A-arm to reattach the strut. Use the rope again so the spring won't fly out.

Takes about 1 hour per side or so.

SableGT

Reaction score
I did it without a spring compressor and it took me 2 hours to do the front and about 1.5 hours for the rears. Once I had the front control arm down I carefully pried the bottom of the spring to the underside of the car. It did not shoot out I went very slow and careful.

Javi

Post Whore
Reaction score
I have changed springs and struts about 8 times now, ima say from 1-10 is a 4 very easy.

Ive never use a spring compressor, just place the jack under the arm and slowly release the pressure, you can use a pry bar to put in bettwen the spring just to make sure the spring dont pops out.

Ive never have had a spring fly out. :eek:ccasion14:

duff daddy

Legend
Reaction score
it depends, front or rear, i can do my rears on my car in about 20 min for the pair... fronts are al ittle trickier

95blackstang

Reaction score
you dont need spring compressors if your take your time and are careful its easy im pretty sure my lil sis could do it.. if you need to pm me and ill take a camera and make you a little how to guide, just let me know!! ill be glad to help

95gtdrop

Reaction score