Results of Lemons Racing our SN95 V6 5sp & panhard bar question

24hrlemons

Reaction score
We did our road race last weekend for the 24hour of Lemons at MSR Houston. Great track, great time. :headbang:

In a nutshell,the car handled great. I used info from this group to lower the car and added a rear sway bar which '98's dont' have. However I did spin out and the rear end seemed to break loose w/o a lot of warning - but I'm also not an expert driver and was going fast. I eased off the throttle and went into a long sweeper at about 80 and it took it fine through the first half, but then w/o warning the rear broke loose totally and I was doing an impersonation of a drift car at opposite lock until it came around anyway. I think the track was a bit greasy there, but the radius was the same.

In talking with some other mustang guys they told me the mustang 4 link with stock setup does tend to load up and then unload and not be as predictable as it could be. I am planning on making a panhard bar setup and have the rod ends and all that.

Question - Was I just over-driving the car and being a knucklehead or would a panhard bar help make the rear more predictable?

Oh, and we finished 40th out of about 120 cars for two day endurance race, even after losing 2nd gear (bent fork) and having a fuel pump go bad the second day. Not bad for a car that still had glass in it and other issues, stock exhaust!

GDTrumbo

Reaction score
Yes, the panhard rod kit will work wonders. MM, Griggs and some others have them available. The MM assembly takes about 11 hours to precisley fit and will run you about $360 for a new one. There's a small chance you could find a used one but....

GT

OP
OP

24hrlemons

Reaction score
OK, so it wasn't totally my fault - LOL :angel4: