How to NOT Change Your Valve Seals

fry

Reaction score
I'm no expert technician, but I sure am becoming an expert on what not to do.

Today I began changing the valve seals in my car. I'm not taking the heads off, so I'm doing this in the engine bay of the car. With the valve covers removed, you need a special tool to remove the valve seals.

dsc01804kpw.jpg

This is the tool you need, I found this picture on another forum. Basically, the hooks that have the round shape cut in them hook on to the camshaft (around the lobes, obviously), and the flat hook pushes down the valve spring. If you want to find out how to actually do this, just google it, there's plenty of good tutorials out there. It's really a simple idea behind changing the valve seals, but actually doing it is a completely different thing.