Introduction to Powdercoating - What You Need To Get Started

Paul

Legend
Reaction score
Quite a few folks were interested when I posted that I got a powdercoating kit for Christmas, so I thought I'd post up a basic intro as to what you might need if you wanted to do it yourself. I'm no expert since I've not powdercoated a single thing yet, but I read through the manual and I'll post some of the stuff they recommended you'd need to get started. This will give you an idea of what kind of investment you'd be making and the scalability of your tools.

To start, here's a bunch of stuff from the kit and some other stuff that I bought to go with it:

Powdercoating%20Stuff.jpg

My family bought a kit off of eBay to get me started - it costs $154.95 + 18.99 shipping. (Total $173.94)

http://cgi.ebay.com/Deluxe-Powder-C...ryZ92150QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

THIS POWDER GUN KIT COMES WITH THE FOLLOWING:
1 - ROLL OF HANGING WIRE
1 - 1/2" HIGH TEMPERATURE MASKING TAPE
1 - 1" HIGH TEMPERATURE MASKING TAPE
1 - 30 HIGH TEMPERATURE ASSORTED PLUG SET FOR THREADED HOLES
1 - 30 HIGH TEMPERATURE ASSORTED CAPS SET FOR THREADED BOLTS
1 - 8 oz IRON PHOSPHATE METAL PRETREATMENT
25 - S-HOOKS FOR HANGING TO HELP PREVENT HANGING MARKS
2 - REPLACEMENT CUPS
1 - MOISTURE SEPARATOR
1 - PICK ANY FOUR 1/2 LB CONTAINERS OR TWO 1 POUND CONTAINERS OR ONE 2 POUND CONTAINERS OF YOUR CHOICE OF POWDER.

The other stuff you see in the picture is:
Infrared Thermometer - $30 from Harbor Freight
Goggles - $5 from Harbor Freight
Respirator - $25 from Harbor Freight
Dust Masks - $9 for six from Harbor Freight
Long Reach Pliers (for getting stuff out of the oven) - $10 for the pair from Harbor Freight
Flour Sifter - (to un-pack the powder before you spray it) $6 from the Grocery Store

Total for this stuff was $85. Not too bad.