06 crown vic code p0301

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by stroked95, Apr 20, 2014.

  1. stroked95

    stroked95 New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    I have a 06 crown vic and it threw a p0301 code changed the plug with a new and old one was white/light gray when pulled out and put a different coil on it and still getting same code. It really only does it under load like pulling hills and passing. Think it might me the injector?
    Any help would be great need to get it back running soon, need it for going to work.
    Thanks Tim
     
  2. DeepList

    DeepList Administrator Admin SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    9,693
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    Auburn, IN
    Missfire on cylinder 1. Are you sure you replaced the correct plug and coil? It would be the bank on the passenger side of the car, all the way to the front of the engine.
     
  3. stroked95

    stroked95 New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Yes new plug and coil.
     
  4. DeepList

    DeepList Administrator Admin SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    9,693
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    Auburn, IN
    I assume that you replaced the coil boot and spring too? Applied dielectric grease as well?

    What kind of spark plug did you put it there? I've owned a 2000 P71 crown vic previously and I currently have a 2004 P71. I can tell you, they don't like anything other than Motorcraft and AutoLite. I tried some of the other ones, and they made it run like shit.
     
  5. stroked95

    stroked95 New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    I put autolites in and new boot, spring and grease.
     
  6. DeepList

    DeepList Administrator Admin SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    9,693
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    Auburn, IN
    The only other things I can think of would be if there's a short in your harness or the ECM is fubar'd, resulting in that coil not firing. You can use a simple LED testing unit to see if the switching signal from the ECM is being sent or not. Also, check the connector on your injector too. The clips are known to break on those cars and not make connection. I think almost all of them on my 2000 were zip tied down.
     
  7. stroked95

    stroked95 New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    I will check that tomorrow. Just a pain needed the car to a meeting 3 hours away and have to take my truck now and pay twice as much in gas, and can't take the stang yet still working that. Thanks for the help I will let you know what I find out.
     
  8. stroked95

    stroked95 New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    I put a new injector in it and seems to run a lot better but intake gasket is leaking. Does any one make a better intake than the oe plastic one?