1996 mustang cobra won't start, theft light blinking

ShaneCR

Reaction score
I work in the car business and just had someone trade in a 96 mustang cobra. Only has 89k miles and he drove the vehicle in to our dealer. I decided hey I want to buy the vehicle so after he left I went out to take a look at the vehicle. It came with 2 keys, 2 fobs and has an alarm system that says ford on it under the dash. Problem I am having is the vehicle is not starting which I don't understand because he drove it to us. I put the key in and attempted to start the vehicle and nothing happens. The dashboard shows theft which is blinking but the fobs won't deactivate it or unlock the doors or trunk. I figured it was the batteries in the fobs...nope same thing. So after talking with a tech he suggested we remove the alarm system which he did. Still won't turn over and theft light is still active. I currently also drive a 95 gt mustang and when you turn the vehicle over you hear everything engage before starting it like the fuel pump and injectors but I don't hear anything with the 96 cobra. We also attempted to remove the tumbler to bypass it hoping that was the issue...nope now he thinks it's the ignition switch. Any ideas please help I really want to get this thing running so I can sell my 95 gt.

ttocs

Post Whore
Reaction score
The security light blinking has nothing to do with the keyless entry/alarm you removed. Hopefully it was not a code alarm system that has a normally open starter kill as if the tech didn't take the time to reconnect the starter wire that is one reason it would not crank now. The flashing light is the pats system in the keys that are passive transponders. Is it possible you only tried to start it with one key? If so and that key for some reason was not programmed, the other key might or should and you just need to program the other. I have to say I am kind of confused of someone in the car biz that doesn't understand fords pats system.

Jgehret

Reaction score