75MM TB and Plenum install

Discussion in '96-04 - 2V Specific' started by JerZeyStangz, May 24, 2014.

  1. JerZeyStangz

    JerZeyStangz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Who here has installed these items on there 96-98 GT? I had to do some research because I bought my throttle body and plenum used. I found out that I have a MAC throttle body with a idle screw next to the tps, I've noticed on other style throttle bodies this screw is not present. Is this a advantage for me from tuning stand point? I also got a c&l plenum which is my favorite out of all the plenums and the cast is actually really smooth inside on the inside of the plenum. What are some tips for a trouble free install on my car? Two things I am really concerned about its the idle screw, and the throttle stop on the throttle body, both are adjustable and I have no idea where they should be....
     
  2. joekd

    joekd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    Ct
    You are worrying over nothing. Just install, start car, let run for a minute, adjust idle only if far too high or low, done.
     
  3. Ferocious

    Ferocious Legend SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,255
    Likes Received:
    592
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    Agreed ^

    Just take the old one off and put the new one in. Not much can go wrong. I have a MAC t/b on mine and the set screw really doesn't do anything unless you need it to idle higher than it should. I have mine set all the way back, with the throttle stop barely touching the screw and my car idles perfectly at around 600 rpms.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. JerZeyStangz

    JerZeyStangz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Thanks I will do that. I was actually looking at your old thread about your tb/plenum install.

    Can I see a picture with the "gold" screw set all the way back? Mine is in the 2 o'clock position.

    Do we have to check the volts at the TPS, or is just self adjusting? When I researching, the 5.0's have tps changes by turning the TPS in a clockwise position and tightening the tps screws down.
     
  5. Ferocious

    Ferocious Legend SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,255
    Likes Received:
    592
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    The set screw is already set all the way back in a way. Any more and there will just be a gap there. The throttle body lever will not go any further back then the position it is now, it will only go forward.

    [​IMG]

    You can always check your TPS, but there is no way of adjusting it yourself. TPS adjustment is a myth.

    http://www.stangnet.com/mustang-forums/threads/adjusting-your-tps-to-0-98v-is-not-necessary.825424/
    http://mustangforums.com/forum/5-0l-1979-1995-mustang/306203-tps-voltage.html
     
  6. JerZeyStangz

    JerZeyStangz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    [​IMG]

    I took this picture.The throttle stop is perfectly adjusted like yours in your picture where it barely touches the throttle cable mechanism. The gold screw I am talking about is the flathead screw in my picture thats in the 2 o'clock position.
     
  7. JerZeyStangz

    JerZeyStangz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Hey Ferocious, can you provide info on the gold flathead screw bolted to the housing of the TPS, does it do anything at all?
     
  8. Wichers123

    Wichers123 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Location:
    Covington, louisiana
    It's a idle bleed don't mess with it. Also the throttle stop screw make sure the blade is not digging into the throat.
     
  9. Ferocious

    Ferocious Legend SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,255
    Likes Received:
    592
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    I don't think that's what you use to adjust the idle? To "adjust" (which you can't really do) the tps you tighten the set screws on top of the tps sensor last time I checked: http://www.muscularmustangs.com/tps.php

    [​IMG]

    And here's a picture of my throttle body that I just took 5 minutes ago to show you the screw on mine like you asked. Looks like it sits perfectly horizontal.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. JerZeyStangz

    JerZeyStangz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    "

    I will not touch it. What does the "idle bleed" screw does anyway? I will make sure that the throttle stop screw doesn't let the blade dig into the throat like you said.

    I am not going to mess with that screw since the TPS is non-adjustable.