8.8 Rebuild Nightmare - Deceleration Clunk

RufusT

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I have a 1994 Mustang GT with Automatic Transmission. This is my dream car and I love it. However, I love what I want to do with it more! That said, While I am not a paid mechanic, I have built a chopper, maintained and upgraded a Jeep and now moved to my Mustang. I decided I wanted to upgrade the rear gears from 2.73 to 3.73 earlier this year. For my birthday, I received a set of Ford Racing Gears. Following the instructions at CJPonyParts, I conducted the upgrade. In an effort to make my life easy, I had installed a Yukon Gears Crush Sleeve Eliminator... numerous times... to get the preload right. When it was 22 inch pounds, I installed the carrier and set backlash at .009 - then put it all back together, included a little of 2 quarts of Royal Purple (expensive stuff, but if you are doing it, so it right, right?).

I drove it for about 30 miles to get the initial break-in started. Toward the end of that stretch, I started to feel a weird deceleration clunk. I drove the car another 250 miles, figuring the clunk was a bad u-joint or loose control arm. this was a total of about 4 days. It got progressively worse, so I pulled it into the garage and verified that the pinion was loose and the clunk as the pinion settling down on deceleration, only to go back up on acceleration. So... I got to take it all apart again....