96 cobra maf

Discussion in '96-04 - 4V Specific' started by collinselectric5, Nov 17, 2016.

  1. collinselectric5

    collinselectric5 Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Hi guys, I am replacing the maf in my 96 cobra this weekend with a stock unit as my cobra is basically stock. I also think I'll install a drop in K&N filter since I have it out. I read bad things on removing the filter housing but I'm wondering if there's any way to get a little more airflow to the filter without spending a couple hundred on a cai. By the way, my cobra has over 200,000 miles on it, runs good and I bought it for $900![​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-J700T1 using Tapatalk
     
  2. SnakeBit!

    SnakeBit! Active Member

    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    73
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    cai's on the stock motors don't really do much. don't waste your money. a good drop in is fine.
     
  3. ttocs

    ttocs Post Whore

    Messages:
    25,773
    Likes Received:
    2,693
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    what maf is on it now?
     
  4. collinselectric5

    collinselectric5 Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    I installed a stock replacement maf, no more check engine light

    Sent from my SM-J700T1 using Tapatalk
     
  5. ttocs

    ttocs Post Whore

    Messages:
    25,773
    Likes Received:
    2,693
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    oh you didn't mention a check engine light so I was wondering why you were replacing it
     
  6. collinselectric5

    collinselectric5 Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    I forgot I didn't mention that earlier lol... just trying to get things up to date on her. Replaced the spark plugs with autolite 764's today and felt a nice difference

    Sent from my SM-J700T1 using Tapatalk