A/C Not Getting Cold.

Discussion in '96-04 - 2V Specific' started by Foster98GT, Jun 6, 2006.

  1. Foster98GT

    Foster98GT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    My A\C isn't getting cold. Have any of you guys installed you own refrigerant? Im talking about the R-134 kind that you get from from autozone. Can someone shed some light on this for me....Thanks.
     
  2. Outlaw97GT

    Outlaw97GT Active Member

    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    1st of all, STAY away from autozone!! O'Reilly's or advanced is better.

    Go to the parts store and buy the R134 hose kit with the gauge on it...... 7-10 bucks.
    Crank up your car put the a/c on high, put the hose/gauge on the low-side fitting. ( pass. side rear by dryer)
    The gauge will tell you if your low or not.
    Don't over fill R134, or it will blow out hot air.
     
  3. 94gtstang50

    94gtstang50 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    What he said. I work at advance and we have a bunch of the R134 stuff and one system with the gauge on it (thats the one you want). Let us know how it goes.
     
  4. Outlaw97GT

    Outlaw97GT Active Member

    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    LOL, and I work at O'Relly's
     
  5. Foster98GT

    Foster98GT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Thanks for the info guys, I hope to get this done tomorrow. Driving a Black Car With Black Leather isn't easy here in Georgia during the summer.
     
  6. Matt94GT

    Matt94GT Legend Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    11,861
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
    not only will over filling/under filling cause it to not cool properly it will set it off on high/low pressure and if cars dont have that it will ruin the compressor over time. make sure you fill it properly.

    your seal (i forget the name) prob dried up and leaked the guys at a autoparts store that sell refrigrative supplies for vehicles would know what im talking about.
     
  7. Foster98GT

    Foster98GT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    I Just noticed today when my A/C is on the thing at the bottom of the motor that has the belt going around it, i believe its the Compressor. Its turning for about 3 seconds and stopping and turning again. Anyone know what might be the prob?
     
  8. Matt94GT

    Matt94GT Legend Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    11,861
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
    Yeah thats the compressor, it might be shutting off on saftey I bet you dont have a charge in there any more but im not too sure what u mean by stopping and turning 3 seconds?
     
  9. ALITL8

    ALITL8 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    turn it off and get it recharged... it doesnt cost that much to have someone do it for you.
     
  10. Foster98GT

    Foster98GT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    OK, as your looking at the compressor. you see the belt turning around the front of the compressor. Theres a metal plate that sits in front of the area where the belt is turning. this metal plate turns for 2 to 3 seconds, stops and starts again. I can hear the engine idle down every time that plate turns...Sorry for me Piss Poor explanation.

    Does anyone have a pic of where the refrigerant goes? Just to make sure I'm right.
     
  11. 94gtstang50

    94gtstang50 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Thats normal for it to do that, it means it works. I'll get you a pic in a sec.
     
  12. 94gtstang50

    94gtstang50 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    [​IMG]
    Get a bottle with the gauge on it at advance or where ever you go. Turn the car on, put a/c to max, let it run for a few secs, connect the hose with the gauge and R-134A to the spout in the pic (take the black cap off it obviously) and see where your level is at. You want it to be in the blue range, depending on which brand bottle you buy. Cost is like $20-30 for the stuff. If it is low and after you start filling it, it leaks out, you can check for the leak with a uv/black light and we sell an r134a additive to help you find where its seeping out of.
     
  13. badass98svt

    badass98svt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    i gotta get some of that stuff. my a/c only works when it wants to
     
  14. Foster98GT

    Foster98GT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Thanks for the pic. That's where i put the R134 in. Its still not getting cold. Also when i attached the hose the gauge was in the bottom of the blue area. I put a very small amount in.
     
  15. Outlaw97GT

    Outlaw97GT Active Member

    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Thats normal, just the clutch cycling.
     
  16. Outlaw97GT

    Outlaw97GT Active Member

    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Does it blow colder the faster you go, like on the freeway?

    Could be the compressor going out. The compressor has small pistons, alot of times you get blow-by ( loss of pressure) and it won't blow cold at low RPM's. Thats a common problem on R4's...gm crap.
     
  17. Foster98GT

    Foster98GT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Nope, it never blows cold.
     
  18. Matt94GT

    Matt94GT Legend Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    11,861
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
    compressor could be shot, or did you replace the seal when you recharged it after it was low on refrigrant? if not then its probaly all leaked out again.
     
  19. jpajkos

    jpajkos Active Member

    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Before buying a new compressor make sure you check all your vacuum lines. In the back by the fire wall chase and look at every since line. If there is a cracked or a hole in one hose that will definantly be a problem. I was going through this in my 96 GT. I thought it needed to be recharged so i did it. Come to find out it never got cold so I BOUGHT the recharge kit with the red dye in it to detect a leak in a line. Sure enough I saw red dye coming out of the house back by the firewall and it cost me a pocket wrenching 85 cents for a new vacum hose. Listen to your car if you here air coming from somewhere sorta like a hissing sound check your lines. Hope this helps.
     
  20. Foster98GT

    Foster98GT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Thanks for the info..I'll check tomorrow.