Adding a water temp gauge

Discussion in '96-04 - 4V Specific' started by cobraman, Feb 14, 2014.

  1. cobraman

    cobraman New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Hi,
    I am new here just got me a 1996 cobra about a month ago.
    I am wanting to add a water temperature gauge to it. I was thinking about putting the sending unit in place of the coolant plug in the crossover tube in front off the engine. Do you think it would get an accurate reading there? Any other locations or suggestions?
    Thanks
     
  2. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    22,700
    Likes Received:
    745
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I think the easiest way I have seen to do it is too cut the hose from the rad/motor and then there is a kit you put in the middle. It just uses clamps on either side and the sensor threads into to top.
     
  3. cobraman

    cobraman New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Thanks for the info I appreciate it


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    22,700
    Likes Received:
    745
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
  5. Handz

    Handz

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    There are 2 ways that are the best IMO.

    1. You can use an adapter and mount the sensor in the bleed screw on the coolant crossover.
    2. You can screw the sensor in the drain plug on the driver's side of the engine block. (This is what I did).
     
  6. cobraman

    cobraman New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Yeah I was really wanting to get an adapter to mount in place of that plug I have to use vice grips to get off. I just didn't know if it would read accurately there. I don't want to mess with the stock gauge. I just like numbers better. I think I would rather do that then inline with a hose.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  7. Handz

    Handz

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    The stock temp gauge still works, this is an extra hole on the crossover.

    I have my temp gauge mounted on the block and its very accurate.
     
  8. cobraman

    cobraman New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Jeffersonville, IN
    The stock gauge works but I believe it is mounted to the block. I figured the crossover would be a good place to add one.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  9. Handz

    Handz

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    The stock guage is not mounted in the block.
     
  10. cobraman

    cobraman New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Yeah your right thanks for the info

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  11. SnakeBit!

    SnakeBit! Active Member

    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    you can purchase a replacement stainless steel coolant crossover plug that is already tapped for a sending unit. I have one and it works great and makes the install very easy.
     
  12. cobraman

    cobraman New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Yep that's what I got. Haven't purchased the gauges yet

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  13. 1997gtRioRed

    1997gtRioRed Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    200
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    get a digital guage. can be had for $50 and are very nice
     
  14. cobraman

    cobraman New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Never looked at them. I have three gauges in the a pillar. Two of them are analog with blue light. The other one is fuel air ratio that goes re green. I want yo add the water temp and oil pressure but I want blue light and eventually change the stock LEDs to reflect blue to match all one color.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  15. SMOKEDYA

    SMOKEDYA Active Member

    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    Washington
    I also put my sensor in the block on the driverside on my 03 mach1. No mumble jumble running guessing to the parts store. Had all I needed with the gauge
     
  16. CKreations

    CKreations New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Location:
    Huntington Beach
  17. cobraman

    cobraman New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Yep thinking the same autometer is what I have so thinking about sticking with them unless anyone has other suggestions

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  18. MustangChris

    MustangChris Legend SN95 Supporter Retired Staff

    Messages:
    27,361
    Likes Received:
    810
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    i custom mounted mine into the radiator-stream. afew fittings from Bell Plumbing and Heating and BAM -- out of sight, out of mind, leaving the OEM stuff as-is.
     
  19. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    22,700
    Likes Received:
    745
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    well why not post some pics instead of telling us all about it?
     
  20. cobraman

    cobraman New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Jeffersonville, IN
    Well my plan is to add it to the crossover tube where u add coolant. I'm still debating how I want it to look inside the car. I know you can buy a dual gauge bezel that looks nice and would accommodate the two gauges I want to install. It looks like it would be the cleanest look. Any other suggestions?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk