Anyone ever have a Boss head unit?

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by FivepointSlow, Mar 31, 2014.

  1. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
  2. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,401
    Likes Received:
    2,427
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    Boss has been around for a while and they would have to make one hell of a turn-around for me to consider installing one in my car or for me to install it in some ones car that I like. I would just consider I more work for me in the future either way right.... If your getting it at a good shop with install where you can have them pull/repair it, eh maybe if the price is right...
     
  3. 1997gtRioRed

    1997gtRioRed Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    200
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    id spend the extra $100 on a somewhat decent one
     
  4. ElrodKTPQ_89

    ElrodKTPQ_89 Legend

    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Location:
    Crossett, AR
    I agree with him^ spend a little more on a Pioneer or Alpine.
     
  5. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,445
    Likes Received:
    759
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    Its a $150 unit. If you get it in and its not what you want or it craps out, your only out $150. Most reatailers give a return/exchange if the product fails. The audio company I deal with offers an entire year for exchange if the product fails.
    My personal experiance with Boss is highly satisfactory for the product price. Yes a better product can be had for more coin, but you cant beat that price.
     
  6. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    Mind you in on. High schooler budget... $150 is my price range. Lol
    I know you get what you pay for. I just want something that is decent and won't self destruct on me.
    [MENTION=11896]ttocs[/MENTION] what's your beef with them? Did you have one and it broke or something?


    Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0
     
  7. Ferocious

    Ferocious Legend SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,255
    Likes Received:
    592
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    Well in that case get anything but a Boss.

    I bought a boss immediately after I got my car. The volume knob lasted 1 year and the actual headunit stopped functioning after 2.
    Worthless pieces of crap. Save the money for a headunit that's actually worth something in terms of quality.
     
  8. joekd

    joekd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    Ct
    If you want really cheap and can live with front USB + AUX I have a pioneer sitting in my garage that I just pulled out of my daughter's car

    Works fine, just upgraded her to a new one with full Ipod control and charge (plus her new one has all sorts of fancy colors)
     
  9. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,401
    Likes Received:
    2,427
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    no never owned one but got to install a couple of them in my years. Not all that impressive of a build quality myself and pulled more then a few that quit working. I would much sooner buy a good used deck then a new boss deck..
     
  10. sn95 bullitt

    sn95 bullitt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Location:
    Elk Grove, California
    boss is garbage
     
  11. DeepList

    DeepList Administrator Admin SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    9,693
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    Auburn, IN
    Pioneer... Enough said.

    When it comes to car audio. You get what you pay for. If you don't have enough for something decent now, save up until you do. Don't settle for junk just because you don't have enough money.
     
  12. Above118

    Above118 Active Member

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    ive had boss 1 time,it came in a civic that i had bought. 2weeks after install crapped out. Right now i have a Jensen (w/flip out tv) and i love it...paid $180 for it(from a buddy,not retail price) and hasn't let me down at all.
     
  13. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    [MENTION=11138]joekd[/MENTION] I might take you up on that if it comes down to it... I really REALLY want something I can run a USB to the back of. Wires hanging around are the WORST. I hate having wires hanging from my dads power outlet above the radio when. I drive. Drives me crazy.

    So I guess my best bet is to look for a nice used head unit? I don't have a need to have a new head unit. Like I said my only requirements is a nice screen, good brand, and preferably a rear facing USB.



    Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0
     
  14. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,401
    Likes Received:
    2,427
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I would buy a better branded used unit LONG before a new boss unit.
     
  15. joekd

    joekd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    Ct
  16. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    [MENTION=11138]joekd[/MENTION] is the pioneer a double din..?
    It'd definitely speed up my bezel making if I had a double din to measure and mount in the bezel so I don't have to wait until I can afford one..


    Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0
     
  17. joekd

    joekd Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,968
    Likes Received:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    Ct
    Sorry but no, it's single din
     
  18. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    Oh well then I can just make my old alpine single din work if need be.. Thanks though!


    Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0
     
  19. g36 monkey

    g36 monkey Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    14,057
    Likes Received:
    539
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    Either way, as noted, even if you have to buy a new deck harness and a new car harness, used decks really aren't bad.
     
  20. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    My car harness was cut off by a PO. So I'd have to wire the harness from the head unit straight to the wires on the car. Which isn't a big deal as I already have everything labeled from ****ing with it before.
    But yea it looks like I'm gonna be looking for a used head unit. Which is fine by me.


    Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0