AODE swap for 5spd

REStang

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2006
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Has anyone done swapped out an AODE for a 5spd? I'm considering doing it. I have a 98 GT with an AODE.
 

Outlaw97GT

Active Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
492
Reaction score
0
It would be easier with a donor car. But why would you want to do that..

Just get you a good shiftkit or J-mod it and a 3000K stall and you will be plenty happy with your auto.. :thumb:

Tell us a little more about your car, mods, and gears?
 

Dalamar

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Retired Staff
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
13,863
Reaction score
106
Location
SLC, UT
I'll be doing that to my car here once the motor's back in.

AMP has a kit with the parts needed, pedal assembly ect.

or you can find a doner car, wrecked, v6 whatever and take it out of that.
that's what I'll probably do.

you'll need a tranny, clutch, flywheel, bellhousing, quadrent adjuster, shifter handel and the pedal/master cyl stuff :)
yee haawww
 

ALITL8

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
1,453
Reaction score
0
i have a 5 sp tranny in the garage that i was going to put in my daughter's white one when she got comfortable with a stick. i dont know if thats gonna happen now. might be for sale, needs one of the clutch forks replaced, i think.
 

REStang

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2006
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
I've always wanted a 5spd. It just so happens that while I was shopping for a Stang the best one I found was this one which is automatic. Every single 5spd I looked at and test drove was ragged out mechanically and physically. I've gotten used to the automatic but I still prefer a 5spd. Even with a shift kit and all it's still not a 5spd. A reputable Mustang shop in my area suggests that I buy a tuner instead of gears, shift kit, chip etc. The performance of those things can be changed with a few key strokes and changed back to stock if desired with a few more key strokes. I think that's what I'm going to do.
 

97vertstang

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
2,879
Reaction score
1
do u have to change the pcm when changing the transmission??? just a thought since most 96 newer cars , the pcm controls both engine and tranny.
 

96sohc

Active Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
326
Reaction score
0
I'm in the process of swapping a 5 speed into my 96 right now.
I've got a pedal assembly on the way and some trim pieces already here.
Waiting to sell one of my other cars before I purchase the T45.
I'm using this writeup as reference...
http://www.2kgt.com/item.php?itemid=105

You do not need a different computer.
A good SCT Tuner can turn off all the automatic functions and make your computer work
with a 5 speed.

Does AMP have a website? Would be curious to see what they are selling their kits for.
I'll start a thread with my 5 speed swap adventures when I gather more parts.
 

94gtstang50

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
2,044
Reaction score
0
AODE=Shit. I hate the gt because of the tranny, the thing loves to shift like a fat kid loves cake, I am either going to swap to a T5 or sell the car because the whole shifting into second while doing 70mph isn't doing it for me.
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
74,904
Messages
1,452,853
Members
13,580
Latest member
dpl255

Members online

Top