Are B headed Cobras "really" that bad?

bens4vcobra

Reaction score
All I ever hear all day long from 03/04 Cobra and LS1 owners is that the n/a mod motor mustangs are dogs. They even bash the Mach 1 as being "junk." Now of course, i'm comming over from svtperformance so that might have something to do with it. But never the less, the B head cobras get their fair share of flack. but all i ever see is built B headed cobras going like stink (Boss330) and making just as impressive power numbers and 1/4 times (sometimes better with equal power to 03/04 cobras) as anything else. The b heads are supposed to be "inferior" but with forged internals to handle boost, they seem to flow just as well as any other mod motor mustang (pre-gt500). So am i missing something? i'm not an engineer or engine builder, so maybe i dont have the mechanical background to fully understand why our cobras seem to be the red headed stepchild of the 4v family.

lets get some thoughts and opinions on this subject.

ripper

Reaction score
I cant help ya out ben i have a GT but i can say i wish i had one.

blackfang

Reaction score
For one it is SVTP and two the fastest/quickest Modular is a B headed 4V

OP
OP
B

bens4vcobra

Reaction score
blackfang said:

You mean in general or after its outfitted appropriately (built)?

Do you have a link?

freakshow12

Reaction score
in stock trim they are ok. I have a cobra and a mach. stock for stock the mach will eat it up all day. my cobra is blown(and blown up LOL) though so now its a different story. in my rebuild I am staying with the B heads and they will be fine

blackfang

Reaction score
bens4vcobra said:
blackfang said:

Do you have a link?
No link, but it is well known that Milhovetz's (sp) car is the fastest and he is running B heads. he has a built engine in his.

OP
OP
B

bens4vcobra

Reaction score
blackfang said:
bens4vcobra said:
blackfang said:

Do you have a link?