Bad Trans?

A_+

Reaction score
Im new to the whole T5 scene and the sn95 scene as well. I always built my foxbody mustangs to have a built c4 or built aod so im sure i screwed up this t5 because i cant drive a stick for shit. Im getting a rattling/knocking noise coming from the trans (i think) when im at about 40mph. I believe its from my lack of down shifting. What do you think would cause this?

RichV

Reaction score
Exhaust or driveshaft noise? If something was broke inside, I don't think you could drive it.

Is is it a specific gear? Or MPH?

KillNThrill24

Legend
Reaction score
Lol well at least you're honest about your driving ability, unlike many many others...

As for your issue I'm with Rich here, a knocking or rattling inside the trans would most likely deem it undriveable. We need a few more details before any insight can be offered bud. But I'd start by checking driveshaft bolts to make sure the driveshaft is tight. Sounds bizarre but I forgot to loctite my ds bolts and had a rattling real bad on my car at one point. Thought it was the trans, jacked up the car only to find it was a loose ds. Start simple

But I have to ask, what do you mean by lack of downshifting? Do you mean dropping gears too fast?

OP
OP
A_+

A_+

Reaction score
It feels like the problem starts at around 40mph and a while back, my DS was loose but i tightened it up then. The car doesn't rattle when when I coast or put it in neutral, only when I accelerate. It doesn't do it when I rev it either. I don't down shift when I slow down on the highway. Ex. I'm in 5th gear and traffic begins to slow down, I keep it in 5th till traffic picks back up, I'll do like 40mph while still in 5th. I don't do it all the time, just most of the time.....

RichV

Reaction score
You can't damage a tranny by not shifting. I bet something is just rattling or moving around at that speed/vibration.

Damage comes from power shifting, running wrong or low on oil/fluid, or just miles.

OP
OP
A_+

A_+