Bamma Chip

Discussion in '94-95 5.0 - Specific' started by gary spielberg, Mar 5, 2015.

  1. gary spielberg

    gary spielberg New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    HAS ANYONE USED A Bama 4-Bank Eliminator Chip IN A 95 GT 5.0
    I HAVE A 95 GT CONV 5.0 BBK LONG TUBE HEADERS,BBK COLD AIR INTAKE,373 POSI, 1.7 R0CKERS , STOCK CAM,STOCK HEADS,STOCK AUTO TRANS. LOOKING FOR SOMETING TO TUNE THESE MODS .
    IF I JUST TOOK THE STOCK CHIP OUT WHAT WOULD HAPPEN SINCE I DID THE
    THANKS

    GARY
     
  2. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,470
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    save your cash there are better ways then bama
     
  3. gary spielberg

    gary spielberg New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    what better ways???
     
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,470
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I say that because I did bama after a HCI swap and it barely ran to the dyno to get it tuned. After that it was great. Realistically your not going to gain much performance out of it with the mods you have done. I would wait till you got into the heads/cam where it was required or you just going to end up getting it retuned again. I know the "free tunes for life" sounds good but unless you have the ability to data log your AFR and a few other things remote tuning is just an educated guess at what could help your car. Save your cash and take it to a dyno later is my advice. Get some gt40 heads/cam or a nice aftermarket set and then you can gain something from a tune.
     
  5. spank 141

    spank 141 New Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Location:
    So Cal
    I agree to wait. Not much to gain one a 5.0 with a tune until you get into more than bolt ons. These cars are not like mod motors were a tune makes good power on a completely stock motor. Also you can never beat a dyno tune. Bama does better mod motor tunes because you can data log the car and send them the files and they will tune the car that way. They did it on my 98cobra of course you have to buy their tuner
     
  6. Kboss87

    Kboss87 Member

    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    Southeastern, PA
    I would not recommend a mail order bama tune for our finicky computers. My car ran so much better with a dyno tune.
     
  7. Rallim

    Rallim Active Member

    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA
    Moates quarter horse, or just get it dyno tuned.
     
  8. JKady

    JKady Active Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Location:
    Graham, WA
    I wouldn't waste the money especially with just a CAI/Rockers/Headers
     
  9. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Bama is garbage. Get a dyno tune.
     
  10. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,470
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    Hope we didn't scare him away says he has not been on since the 6th.

    I would spend the money on a better intake(cobra/trickflow) myself or some gt40 heads. I would probably go with the intake myself as if you did get heads then you would want a tune and maybe a cam. Either one would benefit from a better intake.
     
  11. Addermk2

    Addermk2 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,505
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
  12. gary spielberg

    gary spielberg New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    I was thinking about the GT 40 heads and a better intake' Then my auto trans started to act up. within the past two weeks almost every time I put in reverse the motor stalls . has this happened to anyone .anybody know what's going on??????
     
  13. JKady

    JKady Active Member

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Location:
    Graham, WA
    Only in reverse? Any other trans symptoms?
     
  14. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,470
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    rev it up to 5k rpms before you shift.
     
  15. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    I had that issue when mine was auto.. Bump up the idle a little bit, that helped cure that problem of stalling in reverse for me. But some shop said the torque converter mighta been going out