BBK TB question

Discussion in '94-95 5.0 - Specific' started by CobraClone94, Mar 12, 2016.

  1. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    Hey all,

    I need a new set of eyes on a problem i have been fighting with.

    I have just installed a used BBK TB i got from a sn95 member, and i have been fighting a high idle.. starts cold at 2K then settle's into about 1200. I have replaced the IAC but it didn't change anything.. The Car has been checked for Vac leaks 3 times, twice by me, and once by a local shop none were found.. I have also replaced the TPS and it has also be adjusted...Other then the high idle the car runs, and sounds amazing, throttle response is crisp.. The only reason i replaced the IAC was because when i unplug it, the idle drops to around 700 and is steady, i was told this was a faulty IAC.

    I am kinda out of ideas.. anyone have an idea if i am missing something?..

    Thanks

    Don

    PS: What the heck is this hole for?.. there's another one opposite of it. they seem to be threaded, and are completely closed. EDIT: It wasn't till i looked at stock photos of this TB that i relaized that peice with the holes in it, are a add on.. I may try pulling that off tomorrow and see if that does anything.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. TrickVert

    TrickVert Member

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Park, CO
    I would suggest performing the base idle reset procedure HERE.

    Andy

    P.S. As for the "holes," with that macro close-up, I'm not sure what we're looking at. (?)
     
  3. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    Hey Andy,

    The base idle was set after the TPS was adjusted.. That plate looks like an aftermarket adjustment plate.. I am removing it tomorrow, and see what happens..

    Thanks for chiming in :)

    Don
     
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,490
    Likes Received:
    2,504
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
  5. TrickVert

    TrickVert Member

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Park, CO
  6. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    Yeah once i found out what it was, i had a feeling it was my gremlin.. I'll remove it and see what happens, my setup is very mild, i don't need something like that.. Thanks for chiming in guys, I'll report back what happens.

    Thanks

    Don
     
  7. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,490
    Likes Received:
    2,504
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    its not your gremlin its your cure....
     
  8. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    LOL! I removed the plate, there's no change, still idles just as high, I made a short vid i am editing for UL now.. I am at the end of my tether with this car.. I'll Post it when it's done

    Don
     
  9. TrickVert

    TrickVert Member

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Park, CO
    I'd reinstall and follow the instructions in the thread I linked. Nothing to lose there.
     
  10. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    [video=youtube;mVUYRdCQvIo]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVUYRdCQvIo&feature=youtu.be[/video]
    Here's the vid
     
  11. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,490
    Likes Received:
    2,504
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    as he said not put it back in and use it to adjust your idle as is shown in the link
     
  12. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.

    alight i'll give it a shot, but the one screw is not accessible cause it underneath, so i can only adjust one..
     
  13. RichV

    RichV Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    247
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    Nitrous and fuel nozzle taps perhaps? You'll need to block those. You should be able to get a couple of 1/8" NPT plugs and use as pugs.
     
  14. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,490
    Likes Received:
    2,504
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    adjust the one that you can't reach up so it is choking the air and then see if you can then adjust the 2nd one to get it down.
     
  15. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.

    I'll try.. I have to find a key that will fit it.. LOL!... goes off hunting for his hex set ..................
     
  16. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    So yeah, I spent some time trying to adjust the IAC, no matter what i tried the idle got higher.. only when i close off the adjuster and all but have the idle screw out (backed off for stick-age) the idle is about 1100 now.. i can't get it lower..

    I am gonna try pulling my filter off and for a stall test.. I am out of ideas..I was assured their are no vac leaks.. guess they were wrong.
     
  17. TrickVert

    TrickVert Member

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Park, CO
    You mentioned that a base idle reset procedure had already been done. Was it done with that bypass plate installed? If so, I'd remove it, and perform the reset procedure again.

    Andy
     
  18. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    I am gonna do a smoke test tomorrow, it's to windy right now.. and maybe a stall test, i have to make sure she is not sucking air from somewhere.. I have put the plate back on.. no reason to remove it, if it's closed and not doing anything.. if for some reason i think it is i will remove it and do a reset..
     
  19. CobraClone94

    CobraClone94 Active Member

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    When i figure it out, You'll be the first to know.
    So an update: Turns out the issue was my fault. When i installed the TB, i guess i was a little light with RV in one of the corners. Then i didn't wait for it to cure, so the combo of those two things means when i took it for a rip it must have blown a hole in that corner. So i did a smoke test and found it. I have re gasketed it and i am letting it cure over night. I re did my smoke test after i was done and there are NO MORE leaks. So i should be good to go tomorrow *fingers crossed*.

    I also have a Smog pump on order.. will be here next week :)

    Now if the weather would brighten up a little, I will be set to cruise.
     
  20. TrickVert

    TrickVert Member

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Park, CO