Best oil weight to use

Lazerred98

Reaction score
Ok, so I am new to this forum, and new to sn95 mustangs, even though I was a mechanic in 1965 at a ford dealer, and have owned a 65 with 200 6 cyl for past 12 years, and had a 2005 v/6 for a couple years a couple years back. Just a year ago I bought a 98 6 cyl with 78000 miles on it and in very nice shape. Then the Covid hit, and I have driven it very little since. Went to a couple judged shows, and got a trophy in each. I changed the oil right after bringing home, and put in 10w30 conventional oil. When I change oil again I will probably use high mileage oil, as it has a slight seep somewhere, but since the owners manual says 5w30, should I use that or stick with the 10w30? I understand that ford actually back spaced it to 5w20, but that was surely just for CAFE. So what say you guys, 5w30 10w30 or even 10w40, or I have some 15w40 conventional. All the others will be semi synthetic and high mileage except the 15w40.

Connie

Reaction score
Ok, so I am new to this forum, and new to sn95 mustangs, even though I was a mechanic in 1965 at a ford dealer, and have owned a 65 with 200 6 cyl for past 12 years, and had a 2005 v/6 for a couple years a couple years back. Just a year ago I bought a 98 6 cyl with 78000 miles on it and in very nice shape. Then the Covid hit, and I have driven it very little since. Went to a couple judged shows, and got a trophy in each. I changed the oil right after bringing home, and put in 10w30 conventional oil. When I change oil again I will probably use high mileage oil, as it has a slight seep somewhere, but since the owners manual says 5w30, should I use that or stick with the 10w30? I understand that ford actually back spaced it to 5w20, but that was surely just for CAFE. So what say you guys, 5w30 10w30 or even 10w40, or I have some 15w40 conventional. All the others will be semi synthetic and high mileage except the 15w40.