Best tuning software for 1996 Mustang GT

tvsn95

Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
147
Reaction score
53
I have a wideband in the car and with those Bama tunes, I don't like what I see. What program do you use for tuning?
I use Binary Editor, from Core tuning. Support is good.
I also use a quarterhorse from Moates. you can watch real time and make changes while running , then save.
Adam with Pops help with the questions, I am Chasing a MAF problem now with Adams help.
 
OP
OP
PWNY

PWNY

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
56
Reaction score
35
Location
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
94mm seems like its too much. do you run a carb style manifold? ive got the vic jr manifold too, but use a 72 or 75mm tb. will knows for certain. he and josef also do a lot of tuning stuff on their own cars so theyre probably a good resource

2c310e9065aa802a87ad696ec589450b.jpg

I will agree the throttle body is a touch big but my friend had it and the price was right lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
OP
OP
PWNY

PWNY

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
56
Reaction score
35
Location
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
I use Binary Editor, from Core tuning. Support is good.
I also use a quarterhorse from Moates. you can watch real time and make changes while running , then save.
Real time adjustment would be great. I think I will have to look into QuarterHorse and Binary Editor. Thanks
 

96gt3vswap

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2024
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
If you want a better option than Bama but still use what you have let me know and I can fix you up
Hey man. Doing a 3v swap in my 96 and am trying to figure out what I need to tune it. I wanna do at home tuning on stock ecu
 

tvsn95

Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
147
Reaction score
53
take PWNY advice,,,,Adam is top shelf, and he don't break things...... remember you can't tune it broke.
God knows I know this LOL
 

96gt3vswap

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2024
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
take PWNY advice,,,,Adam is top shelf, and he don't break things...... remember you can't tune it broke.
God knows I know this LOL
So I’m looking into it. Which package should I be looking for. And what is the quarter horse
 

tvsn95

Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
147
Reaction score
53
the quarterhorse is a piggy back that plugs into the J port. I it allows you to talk to the ECU. after ( in Real Time) you adjust the programing .... you burn a chip and then plug that into the Jport. your is tune is now good,,,, and the ECU is still stock.
Call Adam. tell him Tony recommended you to him.
Fact is this is OLD tech. the other fact is Adam wrote / invented most of it. Warning,,,,,he is from NY. and he might go NewYoryk'y on ya LOL.
This is what I use and I can't say enough about the service/Quality
 

lwarrior1016

Mr. Secondary Timing Chain
Staff
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
8,639
Reaction score
4,499
Location
South Mississippi
the quarterhorse is a piggy back that plugs into the J port. I it allows you to talk to the ECU. after ( in Real Time) you adjust the programing .... you burn a chip and then plug that into the Jport. your is tune is now good,,,, and the ECU is still stock.
Call Adam. tell him Tony recommended you to him.
Fact is this is OLD tech. the other fact is Adam wrote / invented most of it. Warning,,,,,he is from NY. and he might go NewYoryk'y on ya LOL.
This is what I use and I can't say enough about the service/Quality
Are the quarter horse chips even available anymore? Craig moates retired almost 2 years ago.
 

tvsn95

Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
147
Reaction score
53
thats a good question,,, talked to Adam earlerir today,,, might be using something diff.. You need to talk to Adam.
This guy is genius at this stuff .
I know I am reflashing my old chip these days.
This guy is a 96, so he may be able to Mongoose reflash his ECU, that WAY simpler than all the chip stuff anyway.
in any case Adam with POP's is the guy
 

tvsn95

Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
147
Reaction score
53
FYI
talked with Adam,, he has fresh stock on Quarterhorse. So yeah they are still available. he has burnable chips also if that's the way you want to go ( my preference). Don't misunderstand, He does NOT do canned tunes.
 

Musturd

Post Whore
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
10,612
Reaction score
2,405
I would go ms3pro pnp with out question . My old car ages ago was on the quarter horse .
 

tvsn95

Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
147
Reaction score
53
I have a wideband in the car and with those Bama tunes, I don't like what I see. What program do you use for tuning?
I use Binary editor,, it,s what Pop's uses,, hell he wrote it back in the day. Good guy, and not too far from you.
 

Silver95bird

Active Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
494
Reaction score
113
I've been looking into some kind of long-term solution that's got the most flexibility. Ms3propnp looks great for my 96gt/5spd, but what do people with autos do? Is QH still the better option then? Buying a $1200 pcm then having to buy a $700 trans controller has to be a bit much for a lot of people.
 

Musturd

Post Whore
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
10,612
Reaction score
2,405
I've been looking into some kind of long-term solution that's got the most flexibility. Ms3propnp looks great for my 96gt/5spd, but what do people with autos do? Is QH still the better option then? Buying a $1200 pcm then having to buy a $700 trans controller has to be a bit much for a lot of people.


Terminator x max I think is probably your main option .
 

Silver95bird

Active Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
494
Reaction score
113
Terminator x max I think is probably your main option .
I looked, according to holleys website only the $3200 dominator kit can run a aode/4r70w. It's kind of amazing what seems like a huge market is completely SOL. I've not really looked into it in quite a few years, but with a 86gt/5.0/aod, my 96gt, and a pile of modular engines and transmissions, if something goes I want to find out what options I can have without dropping my life savings into it.
 

Musturd

Post Whore
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
10,612
Reaction score
2,405
I looked, according to holleys website only the $3200 dominator kit can run a aode/4r70w. It's kind of amazing what seems like a huge market is completely SOL. I've not really looked into it in quite a few years, but with a 86gt/5.0/aod, my 96gt, and a pile of modular engines and transmissions, if something goes I want to find out what options I can have without dropping my life savings into it.
Nope that’s not true . Go look again the x max supports Aode and the 4r70w. https://www.holley.com/products/fuel_systems/fuel_injection/harnesses/parts/558-471

I’m very familiar with Holleys capabilities and clearly know how to read . Not trying to be a dick here but majority of people that run into Holley issues don’t read everything in detail . I’ve got the fancy dominator and a terminator x so I know what they offer . IMG_0530.png
 

ttocs

Post Whore
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
32,961
Reaction score
5,773
Location
Evansville Indiana
yea the price sucks I know, but I would get them while you still can it is only a matter of time before the epa cracks down on these self done kits like they are doing to the dealers. It seems like a big market but there are so many people just willing to slap a carb on it rather than learn the new tech that they are just not huge sellers.
 

Musturd

Post Whore
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
10,612
Reaction score
2,405
Agreed . Seems like a lot of money until you’re paying 700 dollars to tune a garbage factory ecu with zero safety’s besides a check engine light lol .
 

ttocs

Post Whore
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
32,961
Reaction score
5,773
Location
Evansville Indiana
Agreed . Seems like a lot of money until you’re paying 700 dollars to tune a garbage factory ecu with zero safety’s besides a check engine light lol .
it is annoying the first time, but then of course you want to make some changes, the 2nd trip is not any better. Thank you sir may I have another.....
 
Top