Bronze or Powdered metal valve guides

Notthenow

Reaction score
I am working through my set of 2v PI heads and will be removing the guides to do some mild porting. I know all the head porting shops replace guides with bronze, but the PM does wear well. What really is the reason for switching to bronze? This engine will get the Comp 262ah cams and sit on a 98 npi shortblock. Nothing crazy and will be a daily driver with long tubes, some suspension mods and 3.73 gears and T45.
Any insight is appreciated,
Mike

Werecow

Reaction score
I'm not sure about the wear, but I do know that bronze is self-lubricating. That being said you should be able to run tighter clearances between the valve guide and valve stems and not have as much wear this longer life as you would with the powered iron ones as they would wear out sooner and allow for leaking of oil and vacuum. This is just my thoughts on the subject, as I'm not experienced with using them, just observations from what I've learned and seen by using bronze for this type of application..

OP
OP
N

Notthenow

Reaction score
Hey Werecow, thanks for passing that on. Its everything I have always heard as well until a few days ago as I was getting ready to start the process. I read an article on one of the professional engine builder sires and they said the oems used powdered metal guides and chromed valve stems to produce long lasting valve trains. The heads I have I removed from a 2007 Crown Vic with 250k on the odometer. The valves stems have no wear I could measure and the guides are worn, but still have about another 1/2 thousandth before being out of spec. That got me thinking. I also read that the powdered metal had other metals added like zinc to add lubricative properties. That is why I thought I'd see what guys here know. I mean we have dudes running 18-1 to experiment...

Werecow

Reaction score