California Carb CAI question

jasonchavez214

Reaction score
I'm new to California, and want to know what's up with this CARB compliant stuff with cold air intakes. I'll settle for a cheap SR intake VS MAC, but is it illegal for me to do this in California? How would anyone know, if I swapped back during a smog check? Will they check during a smog check?

Werecow

Reaction score
From what lol I unnerstand about the smog laws out west in Cali, if you got the wrong danm windshield wipers you won't pass... But srsly, we've got several on here from Cali, maybe one will chime in and help out with a lil info on it??

Jakespeeds

Reaction score
If you go strictly by the way the regulation is written then any CAI is legal on any vehicle as long as it is not equipped with a thermostatically controlled air box. As far as I know there has never been a Mustang built with a thermostatically controlled air cleaner. That said I can't tell you how many times I have been to state ref to get an engine swap approved and been dealing with a technician that had never read or understood the regulations. Most because they are written by people that don't understand what an engine is.

Save up a couple of weeks more and buy something quality. Especially if it is built in the US. Support a US based business. Not like putting a CAI on a stock vehicle is going to unlock and secret horsepower.

Jake

Werecow

Reaction score