Cobra 2 speed fuel pump

Discussion in '96-04 - 4V Specific' started by AzzLyp, Mar 11, 2016.

  1. AzzLyp

    AzzLyp Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Location:
    Upland, Cali
    Maybe I'm overthinking this a little, but why does the Cobra, like the 98, have a 2 speed pump? It was one of the reasons I didn't swap the Cobra pcm and harness into my GT when I did the 32v swap. I didn't want to have to do the fuel pump and/or fuel tank as well.
     
  2. Witzy0070

    Witzy0070 Active Member

    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Location:
    Montana
    Just put in a 255lph pump?
     
  3. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Its not that big of a deal.. Nit
    sure why they did it

    Sent from my LGLS991 using Tapatalk
     
  4. AzzLyp

    AzzLyp Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Location:
    Upland, Cali
    Yeah it's not an issue with my car at all. My car runs fine. I didn't swap in the pcm because without the proper fuel pump setup to back it up, I would have thrown a check engine light and I can't have that in good ole Cali. I'm just curious as to the why of it.
     
  5. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    I'm running a regular 340lph fuel pump on my 98 no check light

    Sent from my LGLS991 using Tapatalk
     
  6. AzzLyp

    AzzLyp Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Location:
    Upland, Cali
    I was reading install guides before I did the swap and they mentioned that if I used the cobra pcm with the gt fuel system, I'd get a fuel pump code.
     
  7. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Prob would need the whole body harness. In your case not worth the effort when a simple tune will do

    Sent from my LGLS991 using Tapatalk
     
  8. AzzLyp

    AzzLyp Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Location:
    Upland, Cali
    Yeah, I elected not to use the harness and pcm because I also didn't want to install the air pump behind the bumper or the tubing on the exhaust manifolds. That would be another check engine light I would have gotten.