Crank pulley. *WARNING possible Stoopid question inside*

Caboose302

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,601
Reaction score
1
Location
Dayton Oh
I have a vacuum leak on my car and while looking for it I noticed my crank pulley has two pulleys on it. Looked kinda weird so I asked my buddy with a 98 and his only has one pulley with a lip for a dampener on his. Does anyone else have that or is it weird?
 

Caboose302

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,601
Reaction score
1
Location
Dayton Oh
Here's a picture.
979e101a0c10acc09d39641cd900eb23.jpg


And yes I know I have an oil leak, lol.
 

Caboose302

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,601
Reaction score
1
Location
Dayton Oh
I'm wondering if it was boosted at one time. I know it was a weekend drag car for a while but I thought it just had the nitrous kit I pulled off and that was it.
 

talltim

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2015
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
It looks like a March Underdive pulley.I had one on my first motor in my 96
 

Michael Plummer

Active Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
452
Reaction score
43
Location
Brockton, MA
The car had a Vortech supercharger on it at one time. The larger diameter pulley is needed to spin the supercharger faster than the smaller stk. pulley. You have nothing to worry about and can just leave it alone or buy a supercharger. And they is no such thing as a stupid question when it pertains to these cars, it's better to be informed.
 

Wichers123

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
1,203
Reaction score
0
Location
Covington, louisiana
Here's a even dumber question? Isn't this mod motor? Cause all mods have single row pulley. I believe it may be a 5.4 lighting or 03/04 cobra pulley. My vortech kit used the stock pulley for it.
 

Caboose302

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,601
Reaction score
1
Location
Dayton Oh
[MENTION=9170]Michael Plummer[/MENTION]
It's a dumb question because I just noticed it after owning the car for two years Lmao. Won't it affect the balancing if not spinning anything? I'm wondering if it might be to light.
[MENTION=18292]Wichers123[/MENTION] yeah it's a 4.6. But the nothing in the engine is stock anymore. I was thinking it could have been from a cobra because it looks stock.
 

Caboose302

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,601
Reaction score
1
Location
Dayton Oh
Ok did some more digging and found that apparently they're piggyback style underdrive pulleys so in essence they're cheapies. Looks like one more thing I have to fix.
 

JerZeyStangz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
3,615
Reaction score
39
Location
Northern NJ
If your going to boost it get some used oem ones and paint them. If your staying natural aspirated then get a nice set of steeda pullies. The harmonic balancer built into the crank pulley is superior because they designed them with Ford.
 

Caboose302

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,601
Reaction score
1
Location
Dayton Oh
I'm going boosted later... Much later. I've been looking at the Steeda kit. Just have to wait until I clear my garage of the parts I already have.
 

Caboose302

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,601
Reaction score
1
Location
Dayton Oh
Only issue is finding stock pulleys so I can swap the factory crank pulley back on. I'm sure I can find someone that would want to swap them.
 

96blak54

Legend
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
8,122
Reaction score
1,344
Location
Ky
The stock pulley is the one not being used. Looks like a 7lb pulley. Pull them off, seperate, rtv the key way, slide/press back on.
 

Caboose302

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 19, 2013
Messages
1,601
Reaction score
1
Location
Dayton Oh
But won't that make my belt too tight with the stock pulley being bigger and the bigger underdrive accessory pulleys?
 

96blak54

Legend
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
8,122
Reaction score
1,344
Location
Ky
Yes...thats why I didnt state to reinstall belt...lol, sorry.
 

96blak54

Legend
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
8,122
Reaction score
1,344
Location
Ky
Your oil leak could potentially be the key way didnt get any rtv when the installer remounted the pulleys. Anyhow, while you're there rearranging pop out the front seal and push in a new one
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
75,145
Messages
1,456,463
Members
13,691
Latest member
rogue212005

Members online

No members online now.
Top