Does anyone know the reason behind the different fuel tanks on similar sn95s?

Jason.Silus

Reaction score
ChrisFix and most othe people I've seen have the singular cavity in the center, but mine has this one with one in the center and one on the right side. Anyone know what the purpose of this is, and if there's anyway to identify if a car has it without taking down the whole tank.

It's my first time posting here, so please let me know if I made a mistake.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20211202-200210_Google.jpg
    Screenshot_20211202-200210_Google.jpg
    47.9 KB · Views: 11
  • Screenshot_20211202-200223_Google.jpg
    Screenshot_20211202-200223_Google.jpg
    86.2 KB · Views: 11

96blak54

Staff
Reaction score
The tank you have could possibly be an engineering change year switch from one style to the next and yours fell into the middle.

What year is your car?

ttocs

Post Whore
Reaction score
I thought that the years that they did the returnless fuel system they had a different tank which is one of the reasons its PIA to switch over?

Jakespeeds

Reaction score
And I can tell you from first hand that BBK does not carry the correct pump for a 98. No matter what they tell you. Ended up going to Walbro after BBK sent me 3 separate pumps.

Jake

tvsn95

Reaction score
Up to 97 the tank was like the one pictured with two holes. 98 was still return style but went to a pump in a basket in the middle of the tank. 99 and up was the same style but it was returnless.
So for my education ,, WILL a 98 return styie basket tank fit into the 94-95 without any mods other than fuel lines?
I have built several cars and the fuel systems are a pain, well to do it on a budget . Getting pumps through the small opening is a real problem. the central style would be much easier as long as the gauge still worked right .

lwarrior1016

Mr. Secondary Timing Chain
Staff
Reaction score