Drag Slick Help

blackdemon007

Reaction score
Need some help here guys.
I just purchased a set of drag wheels from AM, hoping to set them up with slicks for drag racing this year.
However I have never used slicks before and can't really find the answer I am looking for.
Need to know what you guys recommend for my setup: Brand, size, with/wout inner tube, etc?

Rim: http://www.americanmuscle.com/black-drag-15x8-9404.html

Car: 98 Mustang GT Vert
Should dyno around 300 hp / 300 tq
T45 - rebuilt stock with Stage 2 clutch kit with lightweight steel flywheel
Ford Racing driveshaft
Built rear end (axles, diff and 4.10 gears)

Another question is will a standard tire shop mount the slicks?

Musturd

Post Whore
Reaction score
26x10.00 or 26x10.50 et street slick from Mickey Thompson would be great

03DSGGT

SN95 Supporting Member
Reaction score
+1, I run a 26" M/T ET Drag with no tubes. You will find a 50/50 split with guys saying to run tubes vs. not needing to. I had a regular tire shop mount mine but the owner is a big drag racer so he knows what he's doing when it comes to slicks.

OP
OP
blackdemon007

blackdemon007

Reaction score
+1, I run a 26" M/T ET Drag with no tubes. You will find a 50/50 split with guys saying to run tubes vs. not needing to. I had a regular tire shop mount mine but the owner is a big drag racer so he knows what he's doing when it comes to slicks.

Where did you go, I'm pretty close to your location?

Rob04Mach1

Reaction score
Ya what he said. Run a 26 x 10 or 10.5 and no problem getting a regular shop to mount them. I run 26 x 12.5 ET Street Drag Radials on the Street but I have 10.5 Wheels

As for tube or not to tube as said everyone has an opinion.