fender hash marks on mustangs

ttocs

Post Whore
Reaction score
When did hash marks become a mustang thing? I have always considered them a corvette thing and been confused as to when they became a mustang thing.

NERD

Reaction score
I thought it was an trans am circuit racing thing from the old days?

whiplash473

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
It's a vette thing, always has been. Jst a lot of guys doing it but then saying an LS swap is sacrilege.

Sent from bored/stroked HTC One

aces ST

Reaction score
They are an old racing thing going back to the 60's. used for different reasons,
1. Teams would do it to show what car it was, example if a team had two cars: 1 hash=car 1, 2 hashes=2nd car.
2. Show what side the drivers was on.

Chevy put them on the vette to commemorate the old le mans racing days
Mustang owners really started doing to commemorate Carol Shelby and his racing days

ive been rocking GS stripes/hash marks for about three years now.

Sinned83

Reaction score
A coworker has black ones on his 94 Atlantic blue. I don't care for it.

OP
OP
ttocs

ttocs

Post Whore
Reaction score
I always associated them with vettes myself. I knew they were used on the race cars in the 60's but when they were on the grandsports in the 90's I thought that jus locked it up as their design for lack of a better term. Seems like it would be about the same as putting the mopar stinger stripes on a mustang trunk. Don't get me wrong I don't think they look bad all that often but just always seemed weird to me.

330CubeGt

Reaction score
They are an old racing thing going back to the 60's. used for different reasons,
1. Teams would do it to show what car it was, example if a team had two cars: 1 hash=car 1, 2 hashes=2nd car.

Mustang owners really started doing to commemorate Carol Shelby and his racing days

Yeppp

Win

Legend
Reaction score