First Post-Help with 5.0 Oil Leak

Joshblck1

Reaction score
Hello,
This is my first post here and I just wanted to give a run through of my car and see if I could get a few pointers from people who have experience with there engines.
Just to point out- I am aware that the search button is my friend so if theres something I ask that is commonly threaded I apologize and Im sure Ill find the correct theads/ searches eventually.
I just picked up a very clean 94 Mustang gt 5 speed 3 days ago and so far I love the car. I am 22 and this my first 5.0, I love mustangs and cars in general but I will admit that this is my first time doing any major work on a car. I have access to a garage any tools that you could think of as well as enough of a budget get the car in tip top shape( not talking drag racing, just reliability wise). I have done oil changes/brakes/ a/c work/ some electrical/body work/ and various other small jobs I can't think of right now. I also have a Haines manual for the car to help but like I said I am looking for some advice from people that might help me avoid some wild goose chases. So here is my list of things I know need to be done, feel free to give me any things I need to do as well.

The car basically needs a tune up so the basics I think I have down based on some other threads Ive read.

Heres my main problem, the car have a fairly large oil leak coming from a place unknown and I would just like to know what are the top places I should check for an oil leak. The car runs very well so I have no symptoms besides the evidence of oil leaking under my car and the dipstick level decreasing. Based on my inspection I was thinking a valve cover gasket?

Any help would be greatly appreciated and if I am posting this in the wrong section I am sorry, just looking for some help.
Thanks!

Suspect

Reaction score
Id check the rear main seal. But if its just a vc leak id be happy.

MustangChris

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Reaction score