Gas gauge needle

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by B.mad, Mar 19, 2014.

  1. B.mad

    B.mad Well-Known Member Preferred Vendor

    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal
    So today I took out my instrument cluster to put on a reverse glow overlay, waste of time and money btw, and when i turn on my car again the gas needle gas past the F. I do have a full tank of gas and before it read right at the F, now its past the F. How can i get it back to the F?
     
  2. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,475
    Likes Received:
    2,497
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    turn the car off, pul the needle off, turn the car on, pop it on...
     
  3. B.mad

    B.mad Well-Known Member Preferred Vendor

    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal
    how do i pop it out without damaging it?

    and im trying to install the reverse glow overlay from AM and i cant seem to get it right. Which wire is power for the 94 gt, gray, brown, and red/yellow?
     
  4. B.mad

    B.mad Well-Known Member Preferred Vendor

    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal
    for the headlight switch
     
  5. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,475
    Likes Received:
    2,497
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    brown it typically the power wire for the parking lights but you need to test every electrical connection prior to tapping it. I think I read somewhere that a fork is good to take them off with but this is the main reason I have never done one. Also never liked the look.
     
  6. CC'S95GT

    CC'S95GT Legend

    Messages:
    10,738
    Likes Received:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hampton ,Ga.
    Where the needle is when the tank is when full is not as important as when the tank is empty..

    A fork works great for pulling the needle off. Just don't tell the wife your taking a fork to the garage.
     
  7. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    I'd highly suggest connecting the gauges to a bulb socket in the back of the cluster... The light will still work and the connection is really good. Saves you from having to splice into the headlight switch harness.... I have the black ones from AM but they're the same as the white.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0
     
  8. JerZeyStangz

    JerZeyStangz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,614
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Worst mod I ever done was mess with the dash. I am expert at taking it apart, and putting it back but doing the indiglo guages was bad decision. My needles are only 95% accurate, and it took trial and error to get it back to normal. I am thinking about sending my cluster out to get them recalibrated because it drives me nuts, been this way for about 5 years lol.
     
  9. Wild97GT

    Wild97GT New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Location:
    Radford, VA
    I had those on my car before and got bored of them and the gauges that it froze. All it is, is the needle getting stuck on the overlay. The only thing you can do is try to press the gauges down around the needle with a flat head screwdriver.
     
  10. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    That's not just because of the overlays. If you push the needle down too far it does that. Just pop the needle off and don't force it down. As long as there's space it's fine.


    Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0
     
  11. B.mad

    B.mad Well-Known Member Preferred Vendor

    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal
    well i guess my overlay didnt work so they are sending me another one. The fork worked perfectly! i got it out and now its where it should be. The overlay doesnt require me to take off the needles, i just wanted to get the gas needle back to F.
     
  12. B.mad

    B.mad Well-Known Member Preferred Vendor

    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal
    Good thing im not married :p Barely going to be 20 still got some time for that lol
     
  13. B.mad

    B.mad Well-Known Member Preferred Vendor

    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal

    If i say this before i started snipping wires it would of saved me lots of headaches -_-.. the black looks really good man!
     
  14. B.mad

    B.mad Well-Known Member Preferred Vendor

    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal
    I know how you feel haha but for the most part they look pretty accurate now so i guess i got lucky:p
     
  15. B.mad

    B.mad Well-Known Member Preferred Vendor

    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal
    What i did was i got a blade and just made the holes a little bigger and press them down. Also i noticed that when you put the lense back on it actually presses the overlay down more
     
  16. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    LOL. yea the harness in my car was already hacked up and I was like wtf. Then [MENTION=17876]DeepList[/MENTION] told me he had done it so I gave it a try and it works! Although I think the ground wire is a bit loose. Every now and then when I am fiddling with the car and turn the headlights on the LEDs in the cluster turn on but the overlays dont... And then the next day theyll suddenly work again.
     
  17. B.mad

    B.mad Well-Known Member Preferred Vendor

    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Location:
    SoCal
    did you have to solder it?
     
  18. DropTopPony

    DropTopPony Administrator Staff Member Admin SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    15,342
    Likes Received:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I had the same problem a few years ago. My gas needle kept getting hung up on the overlay. I got so sick of it I bought a cobra cluster because I still wanted the white face.
     
  19. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    Yes. Lol


    Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0