Gauge suggestions

Discussion in '96-04 - 4V Specific' started by MustangChris, May 25, 2010.

  1. MustangChris

    MustangChris Post Whore Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    27,425
    Likes Received:
    874
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    Hey guys,

    I have room for two more gauge.
    im thinking pyrometer and oil pressure, what are your guys' suggestions for my 04 swap?

    also, ive only seen an aftermarket oil pressure gauge installed on a 1994 5.0L. It used a copper fitting near the oil filter. Will my install be roughly the same thing?

    right now the gauges i have are phantom autometers, so i would like to keep the same style, if possible.

    thanks all!
    -Chris
     
  2. Justang

    Justang Active Member

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    1001110111
    My fittings were all brass...

    I just did oil pressure (half sweep electrical) in my GT. In a nutshell you can pull the stock sending unit, insert a T, then put the stock and new senders into the T. You'll probably need a few extra fittings to make everything nice-nice but I did it about a month ago and no problems here.

    Sorry I don't know so I have to ask what gauges do you already have? I'm sure whatever you need can be found in Phantom.
     
  3. MustangChris

    MustangChris Post Whore Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    27,425
    Likes Received:
    874
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    my mistake. his fittings were probably brass as well. i simply said copper because taht was the color of it when i looked at it...

    i only have:
    boost/vacuum
    electronic fuel pressure
    planning on A/F as well.

    so just a t-fitting? that doesnt seem too bad.
     
  4. Dalamar

    Dalamar Post Whore Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    13,863
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    AF, Pyro, and an Altimeter - since you're at 5000 ft!

    or you should get a gauge that says "MustangChris is the Freekin MAN!"
    that would be cool too.
     
  5. MustangChris

    MustangChris Post Whore Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    27,425
    Likes Received:
    874
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Aurora, CO

    wanted to change my vacuum gauge to have smiley faces on it, instead of numbers... but i never grew the balls to rip it apart. lol.

    as for the Altimeter, thats a great idea. I saw a corvette on the auto auction show last week that had one! apparently it always said 0... lol! the corvette was built for the cheif designer for the sting ray when he retired and we was a big air-plane fan, so they put that in there. lol.
     
  6. switch96

    switch96 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    My 4v block had a seperate place for an oil sending unit, right under the oil filter. It was just a plug. No T-fitting necessary.
     
  7. MustangChris

    MustangChris Post Whore Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    27,425
    Likes Received:
    874
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    oh sick. i hope mines like that. lol.
     
  8. Mustang Mark

    Mustang Mark Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    how about a volt meter so you can tell if you produce the required jigawatts of electricity to make the flux capacitor work when you get up to 88 mph to go back to 1985
     
  9. MustangChris

    MustangChris Post Whore Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    27,425
    Likes Received:
    874
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Aurora, CO
    hahaha, well it has one of those stock :p no numbers, but it should be all i need for such a basic build, i would think
     
  10. Mustang Mark

    Mustang Mark Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    true true.
    i would put in an oil pressure one without a doubt though.
    what is a pyrometer guage for? for some reason when i hear that word i think diesel
     
  11. uncltrvlnmatt

    uncltrvlnmatt Post Whore

    Messages:
    14,939
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    Pa.
    Yours has a plug in it for a mechanical oil presure gage. It is next to the stock sending unit. Unless you are running a turbo a pyrometer is not neccesary. I would go with a mechanical temp gage.
     
  12. uncltrvlnmatt

    uncltrvlnmatt Post Whore

    Messages:
    14,939
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    Pa.
    Big trucks use a pyrometer to measure exhaust temp. They are extremely important if you pull alot of big hills. If the exhaust temp gets to hot they could burn a exhaust valve. Big trucks all use turbo's so they are needed. They use a charged air cooler to cool the air going into the intake.
     
  13. Mustang Mark

    Mustang Mark Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    ah i thought it was something like that.
     
  14. Dalamar

    Dalamar Post Whore Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    13,863
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    I was being sarcastic about the Pyro :) Eaton's do get hot you know!
     
  15. Marvin97

    Marvin97 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, Ky
    +1, if I had installed my temp gauge when I did my 01 swap I probably could have prevented my blown headgasket. My stock gauge wasn't working for some reason. Kinda costly mistake.
     
  16. mygreengt

    mygreengt Legend

    Messages:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Location:
    South Dakota/ Iowa
    i think you should get an autometer clock
     
  17. Venomous96Cobra

    Venomous96Cobra Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Central Florida
    :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4:

    fvck! that is exactly what I was going to post! good thing I read the entire thread or I would have looked like a douche
     
  18. Adam95GT

    Adam95GT Active Member

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Oil pressure, Water temp, wideband is all you need unless your FI, fuel pressure doesent hurt either

    I had an extra spot so i opted for
    Autometer 3388
    http://www.jegs.com/p/Auto-Meter/Auto-Meter-Digital-Pro-Shift-Systems/760208/10002/-1

    For the oil pressure in the 5.0 i used several fittings not just a T...
    Its in the area just under the PS pump on the 302 blocks:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I used a 1/4'' male to 1/8'' female npt, 1.5'' long 1/8'' double male npt, 1/8 npt all female tee, a 1/8'' male to 1/8 female 90* npt, and finally a 1/8'' male to 1/4'' female npt for the stock sender.

    If the mod motors sender location is anything like the 5.0 this will help you alot...
     
  19. uncltrvlnmatt

    uncltrvlnmatt Post Whore

    Messages:
    14,939
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    Pa.
    You may have been sarcastic, but M.C. asked about them. But anyhow to get a proper exhaust temp you would need to put a sensor on the left and right bank. That would mean 2 gages that would be basically for show.
    Yes they do. Anything that compresses air gets hot, but Eatons are known for heat soak over 13-14psi.
     
  20. Dalamar

    Dalamar Post Whore Retired Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    13,863
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    Matt and I actually have trucks that need Pyro's.
    My work truck get's up to 13000 degrees, that's when you gotta let off.


    any decisions Chris?
    Altmeter FTW!