gauges installed... few questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by TxCobrA98, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. TxCobrA98

    TxCobrA98 Legend

    Messages:
    7,976
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    hey guys, well me and my dad did my gauges, i bought ELECTRIC phantom water temp and oil pressure gauges.

    couple questions though, kinda confused.

    oil temp fluctuates with RPMs (im assuming thats normal).. my question is though what should the pressure be? idling, its at like 30-45.. above 3700ish RPMs, it goes to 100 (pegging on my gauge)

    and on the water temperature, it stays around 230-250* F..... which it also the max number on my gauge. however, we didnt install the new sender that came with the gauge because theres alot of stuff in the way from getting the stock coolant sensor out.

    so, are these numbers normal?

    we tapped into the stock wiring also so my stock gauges are non functional. and i think we hooked up a few to many wires to the illumination wires that go to the cluster because none of the gauge lights work (aftermarket gauges or the stock cluster gauges) Only the oil pressure gauge lights up and barely at that.
     
  2. 19mustang95

    19mustang95 Legend

    Messages:
    6,137
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    you should be around 195ish if you have the stock thermostat...
     
  3. Peter

    Peter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,585
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    tap the gauge lights into your dash lights at the fuse. Just buy a fuse tap and your lights will turn on at the same time as the dash lights and you can dim them too.

    As for the oil pressure that doesnt sound right, the pressure will go up and down with RPM's but I have a high volume pump and reavitivly right clearences and I only see about 75psi on a mechanical gauge.

    You should use the sender that came with the gauge or else the readings wont be accurate.
     
  4. TxCobrA98

    TxCobrA98 Legend

    Messages:
    7,976
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    okay.. after a while of running. the oil pressure seems to drop to about 80ish i think.

    and my dad thought that thats why the water temp gauge was reading 250 cause we are still using the stock sensor.

    so looks like we will have to pull that one out. :-\
     
  5. SRT Handz

    SRT Handz Legend SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    11,494
    Likes Received:
    163
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    What location did you use to mount the Water Temp sensor?
     
  6. scarface

    scarface Guest

    you need to use the sensors that came with the gauges.
     
  7. TxCobrA98

    TxCobrA98 Legend

    Messages:
    7,976
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    what do you mean? like out of the two? we used the driver side sensor because thats the one that goes to the gauge. is that what your asking?

    thanks guys