gauges?

TxCobrA98

Legend
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
7,976
Reaction score
7
which ones do i need?

im thinking about buying that Auto Meter instrument cluster bezel with the two 2 1/16" holes for the gauges.. which gauges do i need?

i will be buying an AEM Wideband o2 a/f ratio gauge a little later but that will probably go in an a-pillar gauge pod. maybe, i don't want to gunk up my interior to much with gauges... but besides an a/f ratio gauge, what others do i need? i know the oil pressure gauge's in our cars are crap... is that correct?

<a href=http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=ATM%2D10003&N=700+4294925228+4294822089+4294908331+4294908282+4294907915+4294924677+115&autoview=sku>Autometer Instrument Cluster Bezel</a>
 

trav_19

Legend
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
5,615
Reaction score
0
i would get oil and water temp.... probley your two most important ones to monitor and yes the stock oil guage is a dummy gauge
 
OP
OP
T

TxCobrA98

Legend
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
7,976
Reaction score
7
ok.. what about brands? autometer make ok stuff for these two?
 
OP
OP
T

TxCobrA98

Legend
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
7,976
Reaction score
7
that does tempt me but im going to buy the C2 series i imagine.. or something with white face/blue glow..

so autometer's gauges are pretty accurate? because i know their AF ratio gauges aren't.. im guessing because they aren't wideband?

(and whats up judd? haven't seen you in a little while...)
 

trav_19

Legend
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
5,615
Reaction score
0
i dont trust any guages but autometer...and only mechanical ones at that
 

19mustang95

Legend
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
6,137
Reaction score
5
tRaV_19 said:
i dont trust any guages but autometer...and only mechanical ones at that
i wouldn't run a mechanical oil gauge if someone paid me $10 to use it...having oil run into your interior is a :nonono:
 

SRT Handz

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
11,494
Reaction score
166
I have that set up with a Electronic autometer Phantom Oil Pressure Gauge......I <3 it. Once you have a REAL oil pressure gauge you will understand everything. :thumb:
 

trav_19

Legend
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
5,615
Reaction score
0
DFG_Pimpin said:
tRaV_19 said:
i dont trust any guages but autometer...and only mechanical ones at that
i wouldn't run a mechanical oil gauge if someone paid me $10 to use it...having oil run into your interior is a :nonono:

i dont trust electric guages for anything to many variables with a mechanical what you see is what you got
 

ju015dd

Well-Known Member
SN95 Supporter
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
4,667
Reaction score
2,329
Location
tallahassee, fl
[TxCobrA98 said:
]
that does tempt me but im going to buy the C2 series i imagine.. or something with white face/blue glow..

so autometer's gauges are pretty accurate? because i know their AF ratio gauges aren't.. im guessing because they aren't wideband?

(and whats up judd? haven't seen you in a little while...)

yeah man autometer is the way to go. personally i like the phantom line, white face with the black ring. they really match the interior of our cars. oh and i was out for a week while on vacation in long key, fl. damn i wish i was still there!! i almost didnt think about the internet, almost....
 

trav_19

Legend
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
5,615
Reaction score
0
oh yeah its the only way to go ...original phantoms are the best i love the way they look illuminated too :pimp:
 

ju015dd

Well-Known Member
SN95 Supporter
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
4,667
Reaction score
2,329
Location
tallahassee, fl
tRaV_19 said:
oh yeah its the only way to go ...original phantoms are the best i love the way they look illuminated too :pimp:

yeap, original is the shit
 
OP
OP
T

TxCobrA98

Legend
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
7,976
Reaction score
7
alright thanks guys.. and the sound of a mechanical oil pressure gauges doesn't excite me that much either. i know what you are talking about though trav... thanks for the good info guys. its really helped me out.. i just bought that fiore micro adjustable clutch quadrant and firewall click adjuster.. ill be going to ford tomorrow and getting a stock non adjustable clutch cable.. then install all that. and i should have another 200-250 bucks to spend so ill be getting those two gauges and that bezel.. or saving it and getting the clutch fixed if the adjusters don't do it..

so do the phantoms illuminate green? i think they do don't they? cause i want a blue illumination because im going to be switching my stock gauges to white bulbs which will give me that blue hue.
 

ju015dd

Well-Known Member
SN95 Supporter
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
4,667
Reaction score
2,329
Location
tallahassee, fl
i have a mechanicle oil press gauge and i cant hear nothing until i am going 75 or faster on the interstate. you can get any color bulb you want with the phantom gauges. they come with clear bulbs.
 

trav_19

Legend
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
5,615
Reaction score
0
yeah the bulbs can be swithced with blue ones if thats what you want...and i hear those guage pods that sit where the clock is dont fit well you have to shave the bottom so it sits flush or else the corners will not touch
 

ju015dd

Well-Known Member
SN95 Supporter
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
4,667
Reaction score
2,329
Location
tallahassee, fl
tRaV_19 said:
yeah the bulbs can be swithced with blue ones if thats what you want...and i hear those guage pods that sit where the clock is dont fit well you have to shave the bottom so it sits flush or else the corners will not touch

i didnt have any probs what so ever with the fitment of mine dual pod that went in place of my clock. that is where i put my fuel press and boost gauge
 

MeanGrn Gt

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
3,094
Reaction score
1
i am going with phantom II gauges. I already have a water temp and will be getting oil pressure and probably a boost gauge :naughty: and probably need a wideband 02 (damn they dont have a wideband 02 in phantom II's :mad: ). They look badass with light through the #'s or w/e the hell they call it. Now i just need white gauge kit. i thought you could still swap out the leds like the other autometers but you cant unfortunately. I planned on swapping to green but i cant so ill just stick with white, it still looks good. guess i should have got NV's instead :dunno:

mechanical guages are nice because you get a full sweep w/o paying up the ass and the accuracy is excellant. i dunno if i will be getting a mech oil pres gauge or not. I have had one in my pickup for years with no problems.

autometer gauges are 2nd to none. i havent ever heard anything about there a/f gauges but i bet the "inaccurate" ones are probably narrow bands.
 

trav_19

Legend
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
5,615
Reaction score
0
if you use a mechanical oil guage i just get copper tubing and throw that nylon crap out works great
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
77,715
Messages
1,508,582
Members
15,138
Latest member
Carlos

Members online

Top