Got some Manley MMR Rods. Have question.

vnmsgt

Reaction score
I have these rods sitting here I got. They are MMR rods made by Manley and are the 4340 Forged H-beam rods rated up to 900hp. 4 of them are blued but a friend that had them before said he had them checked at a shop and made sure all the center lines were still perfect and they are. You can see what looks like fresh hone marks on the big end of the rods so you can see they were checked and all cleaned up. Question I have is that I have heard people reuse these rods and be fine. Maybe not up to 900hp but for a smaller build. I dont have plans on using these because my 32v I am using for my fox conversion is going to be a stock motor so I was interested in selling them but want to be honest about selling them to whoever buys them. I have been a motorcycle tech for over 10 years and we never reused rods that were blued due to the fact of spinning 15-16k rpms plus never saw one that was blued and never spun a rod.

96blak54

Staff
Reaction score
Try taking some scotch bright or emory cloth to the darkened area just to see how deep the blue is.

D3VST8R96GT

Reaction score
How much was taken off with the hone? That's important info....don't expect much money for them you can get them for like 370-400 new

OP
OP
V

vnmsgt

Reaction score
I took them to work this morning and on the wire wheel alot of the blue would come off. It was still dark but it was coming off.

OP
OP
V

vnmsgt

Reaction score
Im not sure how much was taken off with the hone. Was done from someone I knew that moved away and I dont have any info.

Mustang Mark

Reaction score
Personally I wouldn't use them. If you're looking for a budget rod I would look into the boss 302 roadrunner rod, an entire set with bolts can be had for under $200. they are good for ~650 RWHP that's plenty for anything on the street.

330CubeGt

Reaction score