heads+cam, best bang for buck?

rilsy

Reaction score
i have a 94gt with the usual boltons with 4.10 r&p. im looking for a good head and cam combo that wont kill my bank acount considering im a college student with low funds. the thumper heads from http://www.thumperoforangepark.com/ seem to be a really good option for me considering they are ready to bolt on compared to a set of used gt40s. but what cam?TFS1 seems to be pretty popular. i want to get a combo that will go well with my steep gears..my best 1/4m is 14.9 with 1.9 60ft.. tryin to get mid/low 13s.. what do u guys think?

Schiffy

Reaction score
I think you should be an LS1.... just kidding... i think i want to go to this website and check out these heads...

Paul

Legend
Reaction score
If you get GT40p heads, then you have to change your headers too. Plus there are significantly better options out there.

What is your budget?

IMHO, the thumper heads are not a good choice. Why spend $600 (or $700 with real springs) for a set of heads that, at best, are mediocre performers? They have small valves, mediocre flow, and not much room for growth. For a few hundred more you can buy a set of aluminum Edelbrocks, TFS, or other heads that already come with better springs, larger valves, rocker studs (not pedestals), better flow, and more room to grow - not to mention there is a significant weight break and better cooling capacity with aluminum heads.

As far as cams go - for a mild combination there are many off-the-shelf choices that would work. e.g. TFS1, Comp XE line of cams, etc. Make sure you upgrade the intake at the same time. If you want to save some money, buy a used intake manifold. They can be had all over the net, they don't wear out, and will work just fine for you. Look at intakes like Edelbrock Performer, TFS Street, Holley Systemax, etc...