Help before I smash something.

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by the5.ohh, Sep 22, 2015.

  1. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Long story short. Sub keeps turning off. I have rockford fosgate punch speakers hooked up to my Alpine deck, arc audio 4100se amp, JL 10" I just got. It stopped working even with my old subs.. Audio shop replaced the inline fuse holder with an upgraded one, and an 80 amp fuse. It works, then stops. All the wiring is perfect.. I personally traced every single wire. That fuse keeps popping. Should I try a 90 amp and see what happens?
     
  2. CC'S95GT

    CC'S95GT Legend

    Messages:
    10,738
    Likes Received:
    172
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hampton ,Ga.
    How about giving us a rundown of the entire system. Including wire sizes for the pwr anf gnds.
     
  3. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,387
    Likes Received:
    2,718
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    Car audio? Not the greatest troubleshooter... Speaking as an electrician you could have voltage going to ground causing the fuse to blow. Which is annoying but the alternative is burning that Mustang to the ground. (if that's the case) Check all connections at the amp, fuse holder, bulkhead fittings [etc] that could have an errant strand, a spot that overheated or worn cable insulation around tight bends.
     
  4. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY

    Checked every inch of every wire brotha. No kinks, no burns, no nada
     
  5. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    10 or 12 gauge speaker wire for the sub to amp connection. I forgot, buts its thick. The rest idk. Shop did it years ago
     
  6. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,387
    Likes Received:
    2,718
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    If the fuse is blowing immediately, you have a short somewhere. If the fuse takes some time to blow, you have a ground fault.
     
  7. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    804
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    Probably gonna have to crack the amp open and look for trouble Or return it for a replacement
     
  8. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Takes some time. I'll have to bring it to them and see what the issue is.
     
  9. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    I've had the amp for a few years. I paid no where near retail. Replacement is out of the question for this amp.
     
  10. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,508
    Likes Received:
    2,508
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    sorry I missed this. You say its shutting off, does that mean its blowing a fuse, the amp is staying on but not playing any sound, or that it is completely loosing power but the fuse is exposed? It could be as simple as an incorrect sub wired to the amp causing it to draw too much current, get too hot and going into a themal protection mode. Often when this happens the amp will stay on, sometimes there is a light that will come on while it shuts down till it cools enough to power back up.
     
  11. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    804
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    You're slipping!
     
  12. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,508
    Likes Received:
    2,508
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    yes. Unfortunatly for the same old reason that I have been sitting in the hospital. Its good news that its not me that's sick, I am there helping and visiting my mom. And when I have not been with her I have been helping my dad around getting ready for surgery as he gets a hip replacement tomorrow... So its just been from one dr to another. its funny that I realized yesterday that I had never gone in the front/main entrance to the hospital as I was always in the ER.

    I will check back on this later. DO NOT PUT A LARGER FUSE IN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I need to know the model or better yet if you know if the woofer is a single/dual voice coil and the impedance/ohms rating of the coils. Once I know the amp/sub are good for each other there are some tests we can do to narrow down what the problem is.
     
  13. chris91

    chris91 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,761
    Likes Received:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Pull the sub outta the box and check that wiring too.
     
  14. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    I didn't change the fuse, my dad said that would be a bad idea. Originally I had 2- 10" JBLs hooked up to this ARC Audio 4100SE, it was
    bridged on one channel, I think thats the correct term. The wire was of very thin gauge. The setup worked well for 2 years, then my subs stopped working. I figured they were blown, they weren't. I disconnected the subs and amp, didn't use it for 8 months. So I wanted to upgrade to a single sub, link included below. I bought 12 gauge wire and hooked the sub up to the amp, and re-wired the amp to exactly how they set it up originally. I took a picture and kept it, so I'd know what went where when the time came. Amp has power, but again, sub wouldn't turn on. Turns out the inline fuse was blown. They threw a new fuse in, worked for about half a mile, and it turned off. Went back, they put an upgraded fuse holder on with the box housing the 80amp fuse. Worked fine. Then stopped.. Pulled the fuse and inspected it, wasn't blown so I put it back in. Again, worked fine. But whenever I would play music via bluetooth on my phone, sub wouldn't work.. I'd go to a cd, and it worked, stopped.. Now it won't turn on at all. The sub itself has one hook up per cable (positive and negative) - nothing else. I had the stereo place check the wiring, and they said it was all proper.
    http://www.crutchfield.com/p_136110WXV2/JL-Audio-CS110-WXv2.html?tp=112
    http://www.arcaudio.com/p/se-4100
     
  15. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,508
    Likes Received:
    2,508
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    they added a fuse holder on the box? Can you get a pic of all this and again what is the new sub you replaced it with?
     
  16. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    804
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    ttocs figure it out
     
  17. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Yessir. They put a fuse holder on when they first did the install years ago. Now they cut off the old one, put an upgraded one on. The new sub is in the link above, should be a crutchfield link. I can get pics
     
  18. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Fuse holder on the fuse box in the engine bay**
     
  19. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,508
    Likes Received:
    2,508
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    The fuse is supposed to be with in 12"of the battery is why I asked. If there is not one up there and they installed this entire system and now the fuse holder on the box then there is absolutely no need to go back as they must not know what they are doing. Again if you can get the model of the sub, it could just be that simple.
     
  20. the5.ohh

    the5.ohh Legend

    Messages:
    9,555
    Likes Received:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shaolin, NY
    Well I'm shot.. Old deck was an Alpine, new one is a Kenwood I put in after Christmas. Just a note, subs & new sub wouldn't work with either radio. [​IMG][/COLOR[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [COLOR=rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.701961)][​IMG][/COLOR]