IAT sensor relocation for the Vortech?

Discussion in '94-95 5.0 - Specific' started by gnx547, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. Z06killinsbf

    Z06killinsbf Active Member

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    Here is where I put mine, my tuner said it works best in this location.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I wonder how far apart the meth nozzle and the sensor need to be? I remember seeing a flat spot on two of the runners that would be where it would go but also wondered if I just moved it to the back up my upper intake if it would be ok?
     
  3. Witzy0070

    Witzy0070 Active Member

    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Location:
    Montana
    If you want full confidence where to place your nozzle and IAT I would consult with the person who will be tuning your specific car and set up. Tuning is notoriously finicky.
     
  4. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    well crap I still have not figured that out yet. There is one place local with a dyno but I have heard mixed reactions of them enough to make me wish there was a better way. Louisville has some good people but I have problems getting out of town with my stomach crap. Oh well I am not ready to go drill any new holes in the intake right now anyway...
     
  5. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    I would want the meth far enough in front of the iat so it is completely atomized by the time it's read. Spraying the stream directly onto the iat isn't going to give you an accurate reading. [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  6. Z06killinsbf

    Z06killinsbf Active Member

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    I was thinking of putting the meth nozzle in the discharge of the blower snout, mine has a threaded hole
     
  7. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    Mine has a spot to drill/tap and I have considered it but was hoping for a cleaner look and to run it up under everything to be hidden.
     
  8. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    That's where mine was until I went to dual nozzles.. the 625 just wasn't enough. 1000 made a hell of a difference though[​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  9. Z06killinsbf

    Z06killinsbf Active Member

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    I hear you, maybe come up on the bottom of the intake elbow with a littl port.
    That's it, did it not work good there?
     
  10. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    the dual nozzle kit would have meant he would have added a 2nd nozzle just like the one you already saw so he would either need to drill/tap another hole next too it or find another spot that was close.
     
  11. Z06killinsbf

    Z06killinsbf Active Member

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    My question was mainly directed to the need to upgrade to a second nozzle. If I'm going to do a meth kit, I don't want to dick around with a single nozzle kit if it's highly insufficient. I'm just curious at what power level the need to upgrade is.
     
  12. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    oh sorry.

    Anyone know the model number of the metal housed AIT sensor or have a link where to get it now that I am considering moving it?
     
  13. evilcw311

    evilcw311 Most Evil Member! SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    7,459
    Likes Received:
    2,071
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    If you haven't already bought your maf I'm pretty sure there is some that have the iat built in.


    This message courtesy of crapatalk!
     
  14. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    yes and from what I hear the lightning maf I am using has it but again I am trying to get the ait down stream from the meth nozzle as far as I could. If I did move the nozzle up to the top of the super charger then moving the ait to the pipe I am making between it or possibly on the upper or lower where it belongs would be about ideal.
     
  15. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Meth doesn't really work well until you get into higher boost levels. I believe Michael Plummer doesn't recommend using it anywhere below 12#s. I'm at 14-15. 625 only dropped iats like 40*. 1000 dropped me up to 125 degrees all the way down to 120 wot on an 85 degree day.

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  16. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Having the iat in the maf isn't doing you any favors when you're using meth

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  17. Z06killinsbf

    Z06killinsbf Active Member

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    OK, been looking at building my own kit and I'm currently at 14psi.
     
  18. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    To make that more clear, I was seeing up to 245 degree iats and the two nozzles brought me down to 125 degrees

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  19. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    does anyone know the model number or what I need to get the sensor that will go into the lower? Just go to the store and ask for a fox AIT?
     
  20. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Get one from a lighting