IAT sensor relocation for the Vortech?

Discussion in '94-95 5.0 - Specific' started by gnx547, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    F6SZ-12A697-A
     
  2. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    I think that's the one
     
  3. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    thanks. Does it plug in with the same harness or do I need one of those as well?
     
  4. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Unless you can verify that the transfer function is the same for the Lightning IAT I would advise not using that. Its the same equivalent of using the mass air meter off of a different vehicle and expecting it to read the same for a given value

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  5. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    maybe it would work better with my 90 mm lightning maf? :)
     
  6. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Same thing when you use the built in iat off the maf. The transfer function for the iat is different there too

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  7. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    The iat will work.. no transfer function.. i used the one off the vmp no charges needed
     
  8. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    http://eectuning.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=19590
    Last post
    " By*decipha*» Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:01 pm

    the thermistors are all the same, act, ect, iat, they all have the same transfer so no, no transfer needs to be changed, and even if it did which it doesn't you couldn't anyway because the ect and act transfer is shared so you'd throw off the ect

    but its the same so all that is null


    decipha*6743*Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:45 am*New Orleans, LA"
     
  9. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I appreciate the help and not trying to be difficult but if you know of one that works better I would love to hear it and open to ideas. But otherwise this is all I have to go with now after you insisted it needs to be in the runner.
     
  10. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Repost
     
  11. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    I have an email from Michael contradicting his own statement 5 years later...

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  12. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    Well... ha ha.. i didn't have any issue with it using the integraded iat. . As far as i know the lighning one is the one that has been used on the swap or a fox body one..
     
  13. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    But.. I'm using an 05 style so that may be where the discrepancy is. It may be safe to assume the LMAF and Cobra Mafs use the same transfer function. I know for a fact the later slot meters do not. Michael is an awesome guy to deal with :)

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  14. rz5.0

    rz5.0 Legend

    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Great state of TEXAS
    I used the slot style too.. the vpm hpx . He said it be fine so i went with it. .
    He is a very helpful
     
  15. decipha

    decipha New Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    just for clarification, I have never had any issues using different ACT/IAT sensors over the years, off the top of my head I am unaware of any variances in the different ACT/IAT/ECT/TOT/TFT temp thermisters henry has used over the years, however that excludes the CHT - cylinder head temperature sensors henry has used on trucks crown vic marauders and the like, they have a much different transfer

    but regardless in any case, IF there is any variance in the temp sensors its minimal and when tuning you can compensate for any variation it gives you no problem

    I highly recommend mounting the act/iat in the inlet piping where it can measure air charge temps more accurately, same applies to maf mounted ACTs that ideal, AFAIK only the foxbody era engines had the ACT mounted in the manifold which is prone to heat soak and as a result inaccurate ACTs

    all the info you need to know can be found in my pre tune info write up
    http://info.efidynotuning.com/pre.htm
     
  16. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    Glad you revisited this as I still need to relocate mine and need something to do while the paint on my interior pieces curse. I am going to put it in the lower intake runner
    as suggested with my meth kit and just need to figure out what sensor will work or is the best. F6SZ-12A697-A was suggested a page or two ago but when I try vautozone search it doesn't come up with anything. Any help?
     
  17. BLWNBYU

    BLWNBYU Active Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Any idea what thread size the iat may he on my 97?

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
     
  18. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,762
    Likes Received:
    2,683
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I have no idea
     
  19. busta

    busta New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    So I did something silly. I relocated the IAT sensor to the intake tube between the Vortech and the throttle body as some of you have. Of course I had to extend the wires, and I noticed that one wire was gray with a red stripe and the other gray. So I cut the sensor off, and behold! The ends of the wires left on the sensors had no markings haha. So I took a chance and wired it back up hoping I connected the correct wires to each other and the car starts, runs and drives just fine.

    Question, if I did wire the sensors backwards, I'm sure I would have tripped a CEL or the car wouldn't be running right - is that correct?
     
  20. busta

    busta New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    And I'm being told that the IAT sensor has no polarity and it doesn't matter if I switched the wires - is that true?