Idle problem 1998 cobra

Discussion in 'General Tech' started by Cmlindauer, Jun 28, 2014.

  1. Cmlindauer

    Cmlindauer New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    I got my car back from an engine rebuild. It's fairly stock. All forged bottom end with a set of mild street comp cams. Since I got it back it has an intermittent idle problem. It normally idles at 800 rpm. When stopping the car it has always holds at 1200 for about 4 seconds then drops to 800. Now once in a while it goes 1200, 800, 1200, 600,1200, 400 and stalls. Any ideas. Any help would be appreciated.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. Cmlindauer

    Cmlindauer New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Already replaced iac and tps


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. TanTop94

    TanTop94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    134
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    Maryland
    New cam, might need to be tuned in.
     
  4. Barner1

    Barner1 Active Member

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    Tennessee
    x2 on checking out a tune. When I first had my cams installed & the car was untuned, it ran awful! Idling & stalling. But once Dynospeed got ahold of it, ran like a champ.
     
  5. Cmlindauer

    Cmlindauer New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    I had it dyno tuned when the motor was rebuilt and again with 400 miles on the new engine. I also replaced the TB gasket incase there was a leak there. I could not find any vacuum leaks either.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. BigBore96

    BigBore96 Active Member

    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    More than likely tune related to the dashpot settings. Cams can be tricky to get perfect. I've got some comp106400's in my car that I'm tuning with right now with SCT PRP. They are annoying me.
     
  7. Cmlindauer

    Cmlindauer New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Still have the idle problem have replaced 4 injectors and still there. I picked up a used ECU from a 98 cobra vert. I have a SCT 3 tuner. Can I copy the tune from my tuner to the new ECU. Is there anything else that needs to be done for the new ECU to work? Any help would be appreciated.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk