idle problem..

Discussion in '96-04 - 2V Specific' started by spdracer, Apr 15, 2007.

  1. spdracer

    spdracer New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    so today i cleaned my iac? not sure whats its called, my maf and took my throttle body off to clean(which i dont think i should have done) as well as plug in that other sensor on the cold air by the maf that i didnt have plugged in before... but anwyas, now when i am driving and idling the revs stay higher then normal 1100 or so or hang high when the clutch is in for a few secs but then eventually after 7sec's or so they will drop down to normal around 500 give or take.. i know ur not suppoed to clean the thorttle body cause of that seal that seals up the flappy thing when its closed... did i ruin it and thats why its like this? i was reading on here and said if idle is higher then normal then thats what happend and need a new thorttle body but since mine does actually idle normally after few seconds i am wondering if thats the problem? i left the batt un hooked for 30min to try and reset things but this probl still happends.. sorry about my terminology if its not too clear. any help would do thanks in advance!!! :dunno:
     
  2. badass98svt

    badass98svt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    I'm having the same issue.
    From what I've recently been told, you need to set the tps to .97-.98 Volts.
     
  3. spdracer

    spdracer New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    how is this done? and why do i have to suddenly make this change when i really havent done any change to the air/fuel at all..??
     
  4. badass98svt

    badass98svt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    When you removed the TB did you remove the TPS?
    The holes in the TPS are slightly elongated, and if it doesn't go back on EXACTLY where it was, you can get your problem.
    To adjust the TPS...
    (Copy and pasted...)
    you need to probe the bottom and middle wires of the tps sensor. I use a small paperclip. Connect a Digital Multi Meter (DMM) to the paper clips. Turn car on, but don't start it. You should read around .999 volts DC. You want to be around .990-.999 volts. You adjust the voltage by loosening the 2 screws on the TPS sensor and moving the sensor clockwise or counter clockwise. The movement is very small but a little movement really makes the voltage jump. When you tighten the screws the voltage will probably change too. It's not hard but it requires a little time.
     
  5. voidfinger

    voidfinger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    i heard that you can only do that on a fox and 94/95 car. that ours are already set and perminate
     
  6. spdracer

    spdracer New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    i dont wana go through that trouble if its not nessisairy....
     
  7. badass98svt

    badass98svt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Dude, I just told you the solution. Do what you want with it.
    It takes less than 10 minutes.
     
  8. spdracer

    spdracer New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    i never touched the tps left it on the throttle body when i removed it... and after i cleaned out the thorttle body and put it back on this problem did not arrise it was only after i pluged back in that little sensor on the air intake piping just after the MAF that this happend, i also sprayed some air intake cleaner through the throttle body while reving it at the back of the thorttle body....
     
  9. spdracer

    spdracer New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    if i do what u are suggesting with the tps and moving it if the volts are off this should solve the problem tho eh?
     
  10. Thomas_W

    Thomas_W Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Capon Bridge, WV
    sounds like a crappy IAC to me.. cleaning it doesn't always fix it
     
  11. spdracer

    spdracer New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    ill try that out tmoorw thanks guys
     
  12. badass98svt

    badass98svt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006

    YES

    Set the voltage to .97-.98
    While the IAC is sometimes the culprit, it's not ALWAYS.
     
  13. Thomas_W

    Thomas_W Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Capon Bridge, WV


    I agree..BUT he said he did NOT remove the TPS which means there is no reason for him to have to adjust it.. which you can't do on 96-98 cars w/o modifying the TPS to begin with..
     
  14. badass98svt

    badass98svt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    That doesn't mean There's nothing wrong with it.
    Plus his temp sensor was never plugged in.
    If the TPS isn't at the reading I sepecified, it will give him the problems he is discribing.

    I know the IAC is usually the culprit, but his issue sounds like the TPS to me.
     
  15. Thomas_W

    Thomas_W Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Capon Bridge, WV

    i agree.. the tps probably is doing something with it, if the voltage is off.. but if the voltage went bizurk just from removing the TB from the plenum, he's going to need a new TPS.
     
  16. spdracer

    spdracer New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    well im at work right now so at lunch or afterwards i'll get the voltage tester and see what the tps reads..
     
  17. badass98svt

    badass98svt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Yes, spdracer, report back and let us know what it reads. Bue sure the key is in the "on" position, but don't start the car.
     
  18. spdracer

    spdracer New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    yeapyeap for sure, and i probe the wires while the tps is all hooked up and cliped tofgether? sorry i am no mechanical pro here.... lol jst thought of something else im gonna try first, when i plugged in my temp sensor the rubber gromet kinda restricts the sensor on the inside of the cai would this effect this in any way?>?
     
  19. badass98svt

    badass98svt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    It shouldn't affect anything enough to cause your problems.
    Yes, leave the TPS installed to the TB and leave it plugged in.
    Turn the key to "on", then do as I suggested.
    It's really pretty easy.
     
  20. spdracer

    spdracer New Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    probed the wires middle wire reads .93 and the bottom is a low low low low reading of .02-.03 which way do i move the sensor once its unscrewd? just fiddle with it? i was goin to give it a go but i wasnt sure if both readings needed to be equal.