If you have an AUTO with 4.10's, PLZ READ

W

Wes8398

Guest
Shopping for gears and I just wanna know what ELSE has to be done besides the gear install in order for things to run the way they should. I know you need a gear to get your speed-o to read correct. Do you need a handheld tuner to change your shift points? Are there any other mods that HAVE TO or SHOULD BE done with the gears? I know the JMOD is highly recommended, but it's not a must. I'm looking for the 'musts'. Thanks for any help! :thumb:
 

DropTopPony

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
15,376
Reaction score
203
Location
South Jersey
you need a speedcal, handheld tuners don't work for changing gears on 96-98 auto's...we have mechanical not electronic speedo's like 99-04
 

97vertstang

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
2,879
Reaction score
1
hey droptop hes been trying to find out if theres anyway to tell the computer into shifting at certain rpms??? like what the handheld tuners do to 99-04s?????
 

dutman98

Active Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2006
Messages
285
Reaction score
0
I did mine this past summer. I used the Ford Racing ring and pinion set. I also used new pinion nut, crush sleeve, shims(i had to reshim), and friction modifier to add to my rearend oil. I used a speed cal to adjust my speedo. Everything worked out good :thumb:. I was going to get a hand held tuner to adjust my shifts, but I guess It doesn't work like droptop said. I would also like to know how to adjust shift points. I just shift manually when i race.
 
OP
OP
W

Wes8398

Guest
Droptop - I was talking about a hand held to change shift points so I don't hit the rev limiter at WOT, not to make the speedo right. I know there's a gear you get for your speedo to make it read correctly. I'm more concerned with shift points and not ruining anything because I didn't do the job "right".

dutman - have you let your car shift on it's own at WOT? What's the shifting like in just regular city driving? Everything cool?
 

DropTopPony

Post Whore
SN95 Supporter
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
15,376
Reaction score
203
Location
South Jersey
you have to find a good tuner (not tuner as in handheld but mechanic) who is familiar with auto tranny's and shift tables...My 2 local places are both well respected SCT tuners who know about the auto tuning but not all guys are good at it. If i was you i would go over to www.tccoa.com and post up in the regional forums looking for a good tuner in your area. The reason i say go there is every person on that site has an automatic ( T-birds/Cougars/etc) I have learned alot about the 4R70W there. Oh and i'm not sure what you can adjust on the handheld because i have the switchchip because i want to switch between tunes on the fly...i have heard guys say they adjust the firmness of the shift and the rpm's with the Xcal 2...i just don't have hands on experience with one since i don't own one.
 

dutman98

Active Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2006
Messages
285
Reaction score
0
Wes8398 said:
Droptop - I was talking about a hand held to change shift points so I don't hit the rev limiter at WOT, not to make the speedo right. I know there's a gear you get for your speedo to make it read correctly. I'm more concerned with shift points and not ruining anything because I didn't do the job "right".

dutman - have you let your car shift on it's own at WOT? What's the shifting like in just regular city driving? Everything cool?

Yes I do.........but it doesn't redline. It does very good in town shifting. I thought i would run into problems but it shifts just like it did when i had the 3.27's in it.
 
OP
OP
W

Wes8398

Guest
dutman98 said:
Yes I do.........but it doesn't redline. It does very good in town shifting. I thought i would run into problems but it shifts just like it did when i had the 3.27's in it.
And you're SURE there were no other mods done besides just putting the gears in? Well this is what I wanted to hear. I can see someone spending the $ on a handheld to change shift points and putting the time and money in to the JMOD for the track, but I really don't have that money right now; and I also wont be racing the car in the near future (unless I go to a test and tune or something, but that would only be maybe once this summer).

What RPM's does it shift at in WOT? City? I don't see how it could be exactly the same as the 3.27's when the 4.10s would bring you to that certain RPM so much quicker. From what I've read, our tranny/computer is programmed to change gears at a given TIME, not a given RPM. Using totally random numbers, this would mean if it took 5 seconds to redline/shift at WOT with the 3.27's, then WOT with 4.10's would only take 4 seconds to get there. So that extra second would bring your RPM's that much higher (rev limiter....eeeeek). Maybe I'm way out in left field here.

Please, can anyone else out there share their experiences?? It would really help verify this for me.
 

Fets

Post Whore
Joined
Jul 10, 2006
Messages
11,013
Reaction score
5
If you want it to shift harder, get the Transgo Shift kit. Put that beootch in Drive, slam on it, and it chirps tires changing from 1st to 2nd gear. Sometimes it feels like my axels are gonna break lol.
 
OP
OP
W

Wes8398

Guest
Fets said:
If you want it to shift harder, get the Transgo Shift kit. Put that beootch in Drive, slam on it, and it chirps tires changing from 1st to 2nd gear. Sometimes it feels like my axels are gonna break lol.
I'm not talking about shift kits here ... I'm talking about having my 4.10's set up correctly.
 

dutman98

Active Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2006
Messages
285
Reaction score
0
[And you're SURE there were no other mods done besides just putting the gears in? Well this is what I wanted to hear. I can see someone spending the $ on a handheld to change shift points and putting the time and money in to the JMOD for the track, but I really don't have that money right now; and I also wont be racing the car in the near future (unless I go to a test and tune or something, but that would only be maybe once this summer).

What RPM's does it shift at in WOT? City? I don't see how it could be exactly the same as the 3.27's when the 4.10s would bring you to that certain RPM so much quicker. From what I've read, our tranny/computer is programmed to change gears at a given TIME, not a given RPM. Using totally random numbers, this would mean if it took 5 seconds to redline/shift at WOT with the 3.27's, then WOT with 4.10's would only take 4 seconds to get there. So that extra second would bring your RPM's that much higher (rev limiter....eeeeek). Maybe I'm way out in left field here.

Please, can anyone else out there share their experiences?? It would really help verify this for me.
[/quote]
I would say it shifts at around 5700 or 5800 at WOT(I'm guessing) same as it was with the 3.27's. I have hit the rev limiter manually shifting it before it just cuts out, nothing bad yet. In the city it shifts good. You will love the swap. Everything will be OK......I wouldn't worry about it :boink:
 

justinschmidt1

Post Whore
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
10,667
Reaction score
428
i have an auto and just went from 3.08 to 3.73s...and my bros auto went to 4.10s...im pretty sure the computer adjusts itself somewhat.. you dont need the jmod or anything... will a tuner that makes the shifts harder do the same as a shift kit?..my brothers tuner made his car shift like a shift kit...
 

smokinya9

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
just put in my 4.10s in my auto had no shift prob at wot i changed the speedo gear to adjust the speedodmeter but as far as the shifting it shifted at 5900 to 6000 rpm hope it helps and it will have fun
 
OP
OP
W

Wes8398

Guest
smokinya9 said:
just put in my 4.10s in my auto had no shift prob at wot i changed the speedo gear to adjust the speedodmeter but as far as the shifting it shifted at 5900 to 6000 rpm hope it helps and it will have fun
What about any other mods to the tranny/differential? It was suggested to me by a tranny specialist that I do something called a "tailshaft lube mod", in order to make the tranny last as long as it should with the 4.10's. Oh, and how easy/difficult was it to install the speedo gear?
 

voidfinger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
3,880
Reaction score
0
well my car has always shifted at 5500 rpm at WOT, never changed.....
 
OP
OP
W

Wes8398

Guest
Wes8398 said:
What about any other mods to the tranny/differential? It was suggested to me by a tranny specialist that I do something called a "tailshaft lube mod", in order to make the tranny last as long as it should with the 4.10's. Oh, and how easy/difficult was it to install the speedo gear?
 

voidfinger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
3,880
Reaction score
0
man, i would just do the gear swap and a jmod or other shift kit. Also, if you want your tranny to last, get a big trans cooler and some really good oil. Also, if i was u i would put on a torque converter. but thats just me, and the gear shouldn't be anything to install man, just unbolt and replace if remember correctly
 

Nater

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
199
Reaction score
0
I have 4.30s in my auto, and I havent noticed a difference between my shift points on my old 3.55s . It shifts at the same point with both gears....Definately need to get a shift kit though.
 

Jack the Ripper

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
I have an 04 GT Ah-toe. I put in the Motive 4:10's and got a diablow for the tune and the speedo adjustment, but i diddnt bother with the shift points. dont see any reason to.
mine shifts about 200 past redline when at WOT just like it used to.
pulls like a sumbitch too.
:dancing6:
 

voidfinger

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
3,880
Reaction score
0
wow how do youall make those images at the bottom of your screan? thansk
 

Forum statistics

Threads
77,473
Messages
1,503,250
Members
14,949
Latest member
anton_lor

Members online

Top