Instrument Cluster Question

Discussion in 'Electrical & Stereo' started by stangman281v8, Sep 26, 2016.

  1. stangman281v8

    stangman281v8 Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    Hello All,

    I recently purchased a 1995 Mustang GT. The temp gauge was not working so I replaced it with a cluster from another GT. The millage on the original cluster is 104,XXX and the millage on the new cluster is 84,XXX. the millage on the new cluster is not working.

    So here is my question. Is it possible to remove the odometer and trip along with the electronics from the original cluster and swap it over to the new cluster without taking the gauge face. The gauge faces are white from the original cluster.

    Or can I roll the millage forward on the new cluster when I replace the gears in the cluster.

    Thanks,
    Rob
     
  2. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    You should be able to remove the stepper motor from behind the temp gauge, and install it in yours.

    The odometer gear is broken on your new cluster. And do you want the black or white face at the end of the day?
     
  3. stangman281v8

    stangman281v8 Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    I would prefer to use the cluster with the stock gauge faces. I also don't think the needles were put back in the correct place when they put the white faces on. I can fix the odometer gear, but I want to get the millage correct.
     
  4. lutter94

    lutter94 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    South Dakota/Iowa
    I hear ya. Just haven't had to do it myself

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
  5. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,472
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    pretty sure you can swap the odometer and it would probably make it easier to replace the gear as well. You can probably take that out of the new one
     
  6. stangman281v8

    stangman281v8 Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    Alright thanks. I will take them both a part to see what I can find. I will post in this thread with the outcome.
     
  7. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,472
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    yes please take lots of pics
     
  8. white95

    white95 Apex Junky Admin

    Messages:
    16,382
    Likes Received:
    2,702
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    30.31469, -90.94575
    For a last [and best] resort, contact the guys over at Advanced Auto Electronics http://aaellc.com/ They are very helpful and offer a fast turnaround on repairs.
     
  9. stangman281v8

    stangman281v8 Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    It will be a few weeks until I can get some pictures since the car is sitting at my parents house (65 miles away). However, I had my father take apart the cluster and you can swap the odometer and the motors from one cluster to another.
     
  10. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,472
    Likes Received:
    2,493
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    you might be able to pull the full speedo/odo from one to the other.