Is it possible to press the crank pulley on too far??

Discussion in '96-04 - 2V Specific' started by Black 96, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. Black 96

    Black 96 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    I have recently finished a PI swap on my 96 gt and it starts and runs great but am having an issue with the belt jumping a rib on the crank pulley. It is jumping forward (toward radiator) one rib of the belt causing the belt to shred in minutes. This leads me to believe that the crank pulley is on too much (for lack of a better word) to close to the timing cover. Is this even possible? Or does the crank pulley only reach a certain point to where it stops. Or could I be totally wrong and maybe it's not on enough???
     
  2. FivepointSlow

    FivepointSlow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Enfield, CT, USA
    Something could be pushed in too far, like you said about the crank.. But I don't think that's possible... If a pulley is pushed towards the radiator it could pull the belt forward and have the same effect.


    Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0
     
  3. Win

    Win Legend

    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    Kennesaw, Ga

    You could have gotten a bad one. It could have been machined too much.
     
  4. Black 96

    Black 96 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    I never had the pulley machined. All the pulleys and pulley assemblies are all from my car orignially so it should only be that I put something on wrong.
     
  5. Win

    Win Legend

    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Location:
    Kennesaw, Ga
    So it was just a simple R&R ?
     
  6. Black 96

    Black 96 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    I had the heads remachined and put a new intake on but the pulleys are the same as before
     
  7. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,458
    Likes Received:
    775
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    Their is no clearance between the crank pulley and front cover....if any the pulley isnt seated.
    Can you post some good clear pics of the belt and the front engine?
     
  8. D3VST8R96GT

    D3VST8R96GT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,996
    Likes Received:
    83
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Location:
    SE Georgia!
    Yeah you can crank it in too much...... are you reusing the stock bolt? Its TTY.

    The D3V
     
  9. 96blak54

    96blak54 Legend

    Messages:
    7,458
    Likes Received:
    775
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Ky
    Yea...ive never done it. And at 120ft lb of torque setting I cant see how its going to go "beyond" its seat...lol
     
  10. Black 96

    Black 96 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG][​IMG][/URL][/IMG][​IMG][/URL][/IMG][​IMG][​IMG][/URL][/IMG]suspect #3 the ac pulley. really don't think this is the problem but everything is up in the air right now
     
  11. Black 96

    Black 96 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]