Is it possible to press the crank pulley on too far??

Black 96

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
I have recently finished a PI swap on my 96 gt and it starts and runs great but am having an issue with the belt jumping a rib on the crank pulley. It is jumping forward (toward radiator) one rib of the belt causing the belt to shred in minutes. This leads me to believe that the crank pulley is on too much (for lack of a better word) to close to the timing cover. Is this even possible? Or does the crank pulley only reach a certain point to where it stops. Or could I be totally wrong and maybe it's not on enough???
 

FivepointSlow

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
2,646
Reaction score
49
Location
Enfield, CT, USA
Something could be pushed in too far, like you said about the crank.. But I don't think that's possible... If a pulley is pushed towards the radiator it could pull the belt forward and have the same effect.


Crapatalkin' on the iPhone 5.0
 

Win

Legend
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
9,514
Reaction score
8
Location
Kennesaw, Ga
I have recently finished a PI swap on my 96 gt and it starts and runs great but am having an issue with the belt jumping a rib on the crank pulley. It is jumping forward (toward radiator) one rib of the belt causing the belt to shred in minutes. This leads me to believe that the crank pulley is on too much (for lack of a better word) to close to the timing cover. Is this even possible? Or does the crank pulley only reach a certain point to where it stops. Or could I be totally wrong and maybe it's not on enough???


You could have gotten a bad one. It could have been machined too much.
 

Black 96

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
You could have gotten a bad one. It could have been machined too much.

I never had the pulley machined. All the pulleys and pulley assemblies are all from my car orignially so it should only be that I put something on wrong.
 

96blak54

Legend
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
7,783
Reaction score
1,127
Location
Ky
Their is no clearance between the crank pulley and front cover....if any the pulley isnt seated.
Can you post some good clear pics of the belt and the front engine?
 

D3VST8R96GT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
4,007
Reaction score
90
Location
SE Georgia!
Yeah you can crank it in too much...... are you reusing the stock bolt? Its TTY.

The D3V
 

96blak54

Legend
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
7,783
Reaction score
1,127
Location
Ky
Yea...ive never done it. And at 120ft lb of torque setting I cant see how its going to go "beyond" its seat...lol
 

Black 96

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Their is no clearance between the crank pulley and front cover....if any the pulley isnt seated.
Can you post some good clear pics of the belt and the front engine?
[/URL][/IMG]
DSC_0408_zpsfb52c6df.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
DSC_0411_zps117cc7ae.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
DSC_0412_zps20ef1e36.jpg.html
DSC_0413_zps865f7523.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]suspect #3 the ac pulley. really don't think this is the problem but everything is up in the air right now
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
74,489
Messages
1,447,532
Members
13,367
Latest member
DurtyRagu

Members online

Top