just want to make sure

Discussion in 'The Safe Zone' started by ttocs, Apr 22, 2014.

  1. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,509
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    That I don't need this crap before its yanked permanently and I mount something else there....

    [​IMG]

    And also, what about all the cap between the motor and pass side?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Caboose302

    Caboose302 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Location:
    Dayton Oh
    Just smog stuff. Plug the lines and you should be good. Might get a CEL though. Not sure on the SNs. On my foxes that was usually the first thing to go.

    Sent from mah Obamafone
     
  3. kb1982

    kb1982 Active Member

    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Location:
    Kentucky
    The black square box in the first pic is the charcoal canister. Your fuel tank has a vent line that runs to it, then the vapors get sucked into the engine and gets burned.
     
  4. whiplash473

    whiplash473 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,251
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Location:
    Northern IL
    KB is right ^ You don't need that stuff though. Just tell the tuner that you deleted it, assuming you'll be getting a tune at some point.
     
  5. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,509
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    Yes I will be getting a tune with the vortech for sure.

    Does all that go for the crap between the motor and the pass side?
     
  6. whiplash473

    whiplash473 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,251
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Location:
    Northern IL
    You don't need this

    [​IMG]
     
  7. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,509
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    Cool I will start yanking that crap out in the morning. The part with the arrow though is my WOT switch for my cut outs. When it is pushed it opens the cut outs for 30 secs and then closes them so it stays :)

    Drilled out the spot welds for the canister and was surprised to find this rust behind it. Was planning on hitting everything inside the fender with por15 anyway glad I took this piece off. Will probably mount the pump for the meth kit there.
    [​IMG]

    Also what is the canister/black can with the pipes coming out of the top on the back firewall?
     
  8. ElrodKTPQ_89

    ElrodKTPQ_89 Legend

    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Location:
    Crossett, AR
    Not trying to hijack this, but if you delete the charcoal canister...would you just plug off the vacuum port on the underside of the intake and where ever it leads back to on the tank? And leave the purge valve unplugged I would also assume? All of my smog equipment is long gone already also.
     
  9. kb1982

    kb1982 Active Member

    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Location:
    Kentucky
    You want to leave the tank vent line unplugged so the tank can still vent to the atmosphere. My vent hose is tied up and vented near the fuel tank. Its the same concept as hoses running from dirtbike fuel caps.
     
  10. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,509
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I have the tank out right now as well if its easier to seal it back there let me know
     
  11. kb1982

    kb1982 Active Member

    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Location:
    Kentucky
    No need to seal anything. You need to keep the vent in the tank, just no longer have the hose running up to the inner fenderwell, or else you will be smelling gas fumes in the cabin with it no longer hooked to the charcoal canister. Just tie up the hose somewhere in the rear of the car. You could just not use a hose at all on it, but I figure with the hose running up before it turning back down, there would be less chance of fuel sloshing out. I would assume it had a one way chack valve in it to prevent fuel from leaking out in case of a rollover, but seeing it was designed to be a sealed system in the first place, it may not. Its not any more dangereous than a carb draining its float bowls in a rollover.
     
  12. whiplash473

    whiplash473 Moderator Staff SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    12,251
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Location:
    Northern IL
    [MENTION=11896]ttocs[/MENTION] it looked like EGR.
     
  13. ElrodKTPQ_89

    ElrodKTPQ_89 Legend

    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Location:
    Crossett, AR
    The ac accumulator?
    [​IMG]
     
  14. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,509
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    I realized that about 20 mins ago as I was looking at it. I have been planning on taking that out the whole time but isn't there something electronically that needs to be done for the computer?



    yes I think that is it. I don't see that on other cars where does that get moved too?
     
  15. ElrodKTPQ_89

    ElrodKTPQ_89 Legend

    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Location:
    Crossett, AR
    I wasn't really aware that you could relocate it. I guess if you delete the ac you could do away with it of course.
     
  16. evilcw311

    evilcw311 Most Evil Mod! Staff Member Staff

    Messages:
    7,227
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Scott the egr u can eliminate but it has to be turned off in your tune or it will drastically effect your idle. As far as the ac accumulator, it's either you have ac or you don't, I haven't found anyone yet who cleaned that area up without eliminating the ac.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk