Left rear window regulator 94 GT convertible

Lonnie2

Reaction score
Newbie needs help!

My left rear power window went down over the weekend and won't move back up. I hear the motor running and the clunk clunk clunk sound but no movement.

Window motors are everywhere but I can't seem to locate a regulator assy anyplace.

I checked all the Mustang parts houses, eBay, and Amazon all without success.
I don't have a garage, I'm using painters plastic and a car cover at the moment.

Am I even on the right track? Any advice would be very much appreciated!

Lonnie2

OP
OP
L

Lonnie2

Reaction score
It’s rarely ever the regulator. But if you feel that you need one...

https://mpsautosalvage.com/

https://www.car-part.com/

Thank you, maybe that's why I can't find one anyplace. Since I hear the cyclical clunking sound I thought I had a working window motor.
I really appreciate your input as I'm a newbie

I've only had this car a little over a year with 28k original but it sat undriven 10 years in a hot Florida garage before I got it so it has been an $$$ interesting first year.

Flade

Reaction score
The motors have small plastic pieces that engage the gears. Over time they fail and the windows don’t like to go back up. What is really weird is that the rear windows tend to fail a lot. The motors are the same as the front but the front windows weight a lot more. My best guess is the rear windows don’t get used a lot and that contributes to the high failure rate. I have probably replaced my rear motors 3 or 4 times since 94. In fact one failed when the car was less than a month old. Just buy an aftermarket replacement with a lifetime warranty and replace it. With a bit of practice they can be swapped in under 30 mins. If you have never removed the rear panels before expect it to take 60-90 mins.

MyLittlePony

Reaction score