Mis-Fire Code: p0300 (warning, newbie knowledge) lol

Norcalxsole

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I have a couple of questions for my mis-fire. I have 1997 GT bone stock in and out. I recently bought this car September 2015 and have 232k miles. I bought it from a first owner. I'm new to the car scene so my knowledge is very broad, in other words I don't know much about my car as I should be, but I do got to start some where.

I remember when I was test driving the car, I tried doing a small pull 2nd-3rd gear. I've notice the car struggled pass 3k-4.5k rpm. I've drove the same model as mine (my friend's) I remember my friends sn95 was quite more powerful. I ask the previous owner why it struggled and he responded, "The cats are clogged". Don't ask, but once I bought it, I've been daily driving my car to work and completely ignored the problem like an idiot. It backfired when I took my car to a meet last week. My car can't even pass 80 mph even if I put my foot 100% on the pedal. That same day my check engine light came on. I've notice my car has been loosing power each time I drove it. The code is p0300 which is a misfire. With the lack of knowledge I have, I've look into my problem and basically put 8 new spark plugs. And my car still struggles going up a hill. My friend and I took each coil packs one by one while the car was on to see which one wasn't sparking. The tone of my car hasn't change when we took off 3 coil packs and the others did. So I thought it was the coil packs was the problem so I replaced them and nothing hasn't change. Even my distributor/spark plug wires are good. So I did a little more research and end up changing one of my fuel injection. Luckily I felt a little more power and was able to drive my car on the free way lol.