My 01 Cobra...Shes home now

Discussion in 'Members Rides' started by Wild Horses, Jul 22, 2015.

1. Wild Horses

Wild Horses Active Member

Picked it up last night, and i couldn't be more excited and anxious to get this thing back out on the streets.

has 65,959 on the dash, untouched, unmolested and female owned so shes been taken care of. The bad part is that the previous owner had taken it to a shop for what was thought to be a rod knock. They told her it was a bent rod and it had a BROKEN ROCKER??? LOL. They also quoted her 8 grand to send the teksid out to jasper for rebuild...which is rediculous anyway that they wouldn't stay local w the machine shop...
    The shop constantly tried buying it and charging increasing amounts of storage fees. THEY WANTED THE CAR. I am a technician myself and i have unfortunately seen this happen with rare/expensive cars a lot at bad shops. They up the estimate wayyy high, then charge a ton of storage... and finally offer to just take it off their hands. Well, they didn't know this was her baby, so she paid the storage and the tow bills to the shop and back to her home. I found it on craigslist for 5 grand stating it had a bent or thrown rod. I offered them a perfectly fine running and driving 02 GT that i have owned since november or so... It took her a couple weeks of tire kickers and people thinking she was dumb trying to trade her tail lights and she got tired of it and finally came around and accepted my offer. Went to check it out to find it ran and drove perfectly fine... couldn't believe it.

I think the shop was trying to get over on her and grab a cheap cobra that needed timing chain work. I will be pulling it apart to confirm OR NOT wether its timing.

Either way i got a hell of a steal, and this car is sooo super clean. I AM IN LOVE.

Even makes my garage ook meaner...lol
    BEFORE:
    [​IMG]
    AFTER:
    [​IMG]

On the way out to get it...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

On her way home....
    [​IMG]