Need help installing rear brake pads

Reaction score
Recently purchased some Hawk HPS brake pads from American Muscle.

The front pads went on in about 30 mins, no problem whatsoever and I'm a newbie as far as wrenching goes.

However, the back is a different story. Basically, I can't get the caliper to go back on. It appears that the Hawk pads are too thick!

There are 2 bolts holding the caliper on, interestingly the "socket" that excepts the bottom caliper bolt adjusts/moves in and out. Is the top one supposed to do that too? Because that is the only thing keeping me from bolting the caliper back up, I can't get the top of it seated properly. When I put the stock pads back on, everything is fine b/c I have more room to work with since they are worn down.

The bottom is easy b/c the "socket" that accepts the caliper bolt just moves in giving me more room. I am hoping that one of you will tell me that top "socket" is supposed to move/adjust as well b/c then I'll just know it is seized up or something and I gotta bang on it.

I wasn't sure if it was supposed to move like the bottom so I didn't wack on it too hard.

Let me know what you guys think or if you've had similar problems.

S

scarface

there is a tool to collapse the caliper all the way...it pushes the piston in as it turns it. You can rent them at most autoparts stores.

ck5.0

Reaction score
The square tool that you buy does not have the right fittings unless you grind one side of it. Ask you local place if they have the caliper tool to rent.

S

scarface

ck4.6 said:
The square tool that you buy does not have the right fittings unless you grind one side of it. Ask you local place if they have the caliper tool to rent.
what square tool?

OP
OP
S
Reaction score