No chip

Discussion in '94-95 5.0 - Specific' started by Musturd, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. Musturd

    Musturd Legend

    Messages:
    9,111
    Likes Received:
    598
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    So why is it that everyone says you need a chip when cammed in a 94/95 ? My cars gotta decent blower cam comp 284hr no egr just left the sensor plugged in . Set the fuel pressure and set the timing . I have zero idle issues and no hanging idle ? I'm kinda confused why everyone has all these issues with these cars when it comes to make them idle right .
     
  2. Firefighter181

    Firefighter181 Active Member

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Online lore?
     
  3. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    25,415
    Likes Received:
    2,455
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    its been known to happen occasionally. From now on anytime has any tuning questions we will be sure to direct them straight to ya!
     
  4. RichV

    RichV Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    247
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    GT40 intake, GT40p heads, E303, + regular bolt ons including pulleys.

    No issues with what I would consider tune. But my car gets driven a little different than most.
     
  5. hotmustang95

    hotmustang95 Active Member

    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    Boynton Beach FL
    When I ran the Steeda 19 cam, BBKSSI intake, GT40 heads I didn't need a chip. Just timing and fuel. When I switched to a comp cams magnum 281HR, AFR165 heads and holley intake, the car had a hard time staying on. A Diablo chip and some dyno time fixed that.
     
  6. Musturd

    Musturd Legend

    Messages:
    9,111
    Likes Received:
    598
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Yea my cars fine and even did the fox throttle body conversion . Maybe it's the pro-m maf actually calibrated for my injectors . .
     
  7. tykempster

    tykempster Member

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    I have gt40p heads, intake, a bcam, bigger throttle body, headers, and my car will barely run (dies a lot too) without my chip.
     
  8. Musturd

    Musturd Legend

    Messages:
    9,111
    Likes Received:
    598
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Thats weird it should run fine I'm thinking there is more to it then that chip .