No Speedo,Trip Odo & Cruise Control!?

Larry Chip

Reaction score
Hi I’m new to the form I have a 1994 Mustang GT the trip odometer speedometer and cruise control are all NOT working, I replaced the vehicle speed sensor and the plastic gear on the end of it because it looked pretty chewed up and still nothing I’ve been searching the web and a lot of places said that the gear behind speedometer could be the problem but it wouldn’t make the cruise control and speedometer not work only the trip odometer any and all help with work please let me know

ttocs

Post Whore
Reaction score
I was hoping someone had a better answer than mine as I am not sure how it could effect the problem at hand. but I would start simple by checking all your fuses.

amf201091

Reaction score
I'd use a multi-meter and check every fuse real quick.

As for the cruise control. Could be linked to your clutch pedal. Try reaching underneath and grabbing the clutch pedal and pull the pedal towards you. I've read there's a sensor where the clutch pedal is and when you replace your clutch or it needs adjusted, it could impact your cruise control. So pulling on it (adjusting it) might fix your cruise control problem.

Hope that helps.

Last edited:

Daryl

SN95 Supporter
Reaction score
Very late reply, but just saw thread and have similar problem. My speedometer, odometer and cruise control aren’t working. A guy I know who is knowledgeable and has remedied same problem with the plastic gears behind the speedometer. $25 from LMR (+$5 shipping +tax), total of $31. Said it fixed it right up look up “odometer repair kit” in Interior then Dash Accessories.

mine should be here in a week. Check back with me (in case I forget to report back) to see if it solved the problem.

Last edited:

BHernandez

Reaction score