Oil temp gauge

RSB95

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
I was thinkn bout putting a oil temp gauge in my 95 anybody ever done it? Where is a good place to put the sending unit?
Thanks, shane
 

ttocs

Post Whore
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
26,911
Reaction score
3,273
Location
Evansville Indiana
its not hard. Most people just pull the sending unit that is up by the filter that drives the dashes gauge. Your stock gauge will not register anymore but the new one will show an exact temp. If you want both you can use some brass fittings to make a T to hold both but its tight on space.
 

RichV

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
4,227
Reaction score
248
Location
CO
The OE location is good for pressure, but not so much for temperature. Since the oil is not flowing, you're just not getting a good temperature indication.

Best spots are outlet of your oil cooler (if you have one), or a welded bung in the pan.

Any particular reason you're looking to monitor oil temp?
 

RSB95

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Not really thought it would be cool, and tryn to fill up a gauge pod..lol
 

mcglsr2

Well-Known Member
SN95 Supporter
Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
3,410
Reaction score
25
Location
Orlando
Not really thought it would be cool, and tryn to fill up a gauge pod..lol

Put a boost gauge there. With supporting mods ;) Like RichV said, it's not the best place, but you could Tee off where the pressure is obtained, down by the filter. Install an extension hose and Tee it off. Personally, I would not recommend disabling the oil pressure gauge, even if you have the stock one. Oil pressure is very important to the life of the engine, and you'll want to know if you are losing pressure.

Consider filling the pod with a coolant temp sensor, if you don't already have one. You'll get a lot better resolution than the stock one.
 

RSB95

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Yea I have the Saleen style pod on the dash with oil pres. And water temp. I was wanting to get the pod around the factory gauges with the two extra gauge pod holes and puting air/fuel and oil temp or maybe intake temp rather than air/fuel ratio.
 

mcglsr2

Well-Known Member
SN95 Supporter
Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
3,410
Reaction score
25
Location
Orlando
If you want to do gauges...

DSCF1059.jpg



:D
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
74,477
Messages
1,447,377
Members
13,358
Latest member
msi1337

Members online

No members online now.
Top