Oil temp gauge

Discussion in '94-95 5.0 - Specific' started by RSB95, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. RSB95

    RSB95 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    I was thinkn bout putting a oil temp gauge in my 95 anybody ever done it? Where is a good place to put the sending unit?
    Thanks, shane
     
  2. ttocs

    ttocs Legend

    Messages:
    22,928
    Likes Received:
    825
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Evansville Indiana
    its not hard. Most people just pull the sending unit that is up by the filter that drives the dashes gauge. Your stock gauge will not register anymore but the new one will show an exact temp. If you want both you can use some brass fittings to make a T to hold both but its tight on space.
     
  3. RSB95

    RSB95 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Cool, thanks man
     
  4. RichV

    RichV Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    247
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    CO
    The OE location is good for pressure, but not so much for temperature. Since the oil is not flowing, you're just not getting a good temperature indication.

    Best spots are outlet of your oil cooler (if you have one), or a welded bung in the pan.

    Any particular reason you're looking to monitor oil temp?
     
  5. RSB95

    RSB95 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Not really thought it would be cool, and tryn to fill up a gauge pod..lol
     
  6. mcglsr2

    mcglsr2 Well-Known Member SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando
    Put a boost gauge there. With supporting mods ;) Like RichV said, it's not the best place, but you could Tee off where the pressure is obtained, down by the filter. Install an extension hose and Tee it off. Personally, I would not recommend disabling the oil pressure gauge, even if you have the stock one. Oil pressure is very important to the life of the engine, and you'll want to know if you are losing pressure.

    Consider filling the pod with a coolant temp sensor, if you don't already have one. You'll get a lot better resolution than the stock one.
     
  7. RSB95

    RSB95 New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Yea I have the Saleen style pod on the dash with oil pres. And water temp. I was wanting to get the pod around the factory gauges with the two extra gauge pod holes and puting air/fuel and oil temp or maybe intake temp rather than air/fuel ratio.
     
  8. mcglsr2

    mcglsr2 Well-Known Member SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando
    If you want to do gauges...

    [​IMG]


    :D
     
  9. D3VST8R96GT

    D3VST8R96GT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,892
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Location:
    SE Georgia!
    What's the name of that shift light? I always forget

    The D3V
     
  10. mcglsr2

    mcglsr2 Well-Known Member SN95 Supporter

    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando
    Ecliptech Shift-i: link. It's Good Stuff.