Paint correction and revive - 20 Year Old Paint Saved - My journey

TheOdessa

Reaction score
I started this project back in May and I finally just finished up. It was a huge learning curve and process for me, but the results were extremely worth it.

My car is a 2001 Mustang GT with the original black paint on it from the factory. I've had the car over 10 years now and haven't always been the best keeping up with it paint wise. The owner previous to me wasn't the best as well as it was sitting in his garage covered in random stuff.

It was tough with heavy oxidation, deep scratches, and swirl marks. After using (2) grades of claybar and stripper soap the damage was extremely apparent. It took a ton of work but the pictures give all the hard work justice. While the paint is still 20 years old with some chips, and this is my first time doing this, I feel like it came out pretty good.

Before:
You can see the heavy swirls, cuts, and oxidation.
HedcZj.jpg

After:
K7noZq.jpg

UazXpl.jpg

oB9vxx.jpg

Kpchc7.jpg

mpTUBK.jpg

vkL38j.jpg

I also claybared, cleaned, and coated the rims.
5mGaWp.jpg

tTcjml.jpg

Restored and sealed the Vert top with the same stuff I used on all exterior black trim pieces.

rSfBxl.jpg

OP
OP
TheOdessa

TheOdessa

Reaction score
Steps used with product name each step

-Wash car with soap designed to remove all wax and residue
Adams Strip Clean Soap
-Roof viynl top deep cleaned
Horse brush to agitate with Adam's Strip Clean soap
-Decon rims
Sonax Rim Cleaner
-Claybar rims
Mother's Clay Bar Kit
-Clay bar car to remove surface contaminants
Mother's Clay Bar Kit
-Heavy duty clay bar to remove even more stubborn contaminants
Chemical Guys Black Clay bar kit
-Detox surface\Prep
Ethos Detox
-Paint correction (easily the longest step of it all)
Meguiars DA MF Correction system from Amazon
-Polish
Meguiars DA MF Correction system from Amazon
-Hood and rear lid was extremely bad so used a foam pad as well to correct those
Chemical Guys Hexlogic Orange pad